A Book Review By Little Sis

For this post, I will be reviewing A Land of Stories, The Wishing Spell by Chris Colfer.

The story starts with twins, Alex and her brother Conner,  having a hard time fitting in with school. Then, a tragic accident happens to their family, leaving them facing many hardships. This makes the life for the twins even more difficult than before. One day, their grandmother pays them a visit leaving them a book of fairy-tales, that has been in the family for years, behind. Alex soon discovers a glow coming from the book of fairy-tales, when she would place things on top of a page, the objects would disappear. After a really bad day at school, Alex runs home and decides to see if she can get inside the storybook. Her brother, Conner, becomes curious about what Alex is up to and they both end up tumbling inside the land of stories.

I thought the story was too childish and modern. For instance, the author was writing the characters from the point of view of preteens and uses slang for dialog thinking that’s how children, that age, today might speak. At first, it was okay, but then it just started to get annoying. I felt like I was being “talked down” to.

I guess I’m more mature for my age, and even though this story is geared toward children, with me being mature, I found it hard to get into the story-line. I read more stories geared toward young adults.

I did like his interpretation of the fairy-tale world and its characters.

I think I would have enjoyed the story more if the author didn’t use so much slang for dialog. It was a good book, and I would recommend it to children that get into stories like the Percy Jackson series, or fairy-tales. However, if children like reading more young adult literature, then I would pass this one up.

I give this story 2 out of 5 stars.

Leave a Reply

