A Book Review By Sky

This week I will be reviewing The Land of Stories, The Wishing Spell by Chris Colfer.

After experiencing a family tragedy, twins named Alex and Conner are given a beloved book of fairy-tales from their grandmother. Soon, Alex discovers that the book is magic, and by accident, she and her brother falls inside the book to the land of fairy-tales. They meet up with characters from different fairy-tales while trying to find their way home.

I thought the author did a great job building the world of fairy-tales. I thought the characters were funny and very relate-able, they reminded me of my younger sister and myself. Even though I could tell who the target audience for this story was, I liked how the author tackled some tough subjects, like death. I liked the author’s interpretation of the fairy-tale characters. Red Riding Hood and Goldilocks may not exactly be how you remember them.

I liked the story, and am interested in continuing with the series. I would recommend it to anyone who likes good fantasy stories.It would make a great family read aloud.

I give this book four and a half out of five stars.

Leave a Reply

