A Book Review By Little Sis

For this week’s book review, I’m going to be reviewing Ella Enchanted by Gail Carson Levine.

The story starts with our main character, Ella, being given a gift of obedience at birth, that turned out to be more of a curse. Ella lives in a castle with her parents and their cook, Mandy.

One day, tragedy strikes her family and Ella, who’s almost 15, finds herself being shipped off to finishing school, along with two annoying sisters, Hattie and Olive. While at school, Hattie begins to make Ella’s life miserable, which causes Ella to run away and find the fairy who gave her the gift.

I thought the story was a good retelling of the fairy-tale Cinderella. I thought the author did a really good job coming up with the plot. I think it’s a good example of how literature should be written. I also think it’s a really good example of a children’s book. I really like romantic stories, and this story has a nice romantic theme.

I give the book  4 1/2 out of 5 stars. If you are a fan of fairy-tales, or stories that retell fairy-tales, I would recommend reading it. I also recommend it as a family read aloud.

 

Leave a Reply

