A Book Review By Sky

This week I will be reviewing Ella Enchanted by Gail Carson Levine.

The story starts with our protagonist, Ella, being given the fairy gift of obedience at her birthing ceremony. She finds that her gift feels more like a curse when she is commanded to eat all of her birthday cake. When a family tragedy falls upon the household, Ella is sent to finishing school with two bratty sisters named Hattie and Olive. While there, they make Ella’s life miserable. Ella soon finds herself on a mission to break the curse and live freely.

I found this story annoying. I felt enraged at the cruelty Ella was forced to face. The two sisters were way too bratty for me. I understand the message the author was trying to get across by remaking the original Cinderella fairy-tale, however I felt there was too much negativity to make the story’s ending satisfying.  Also, Ella’s “fairy godmother” was one of the most useless characters in the story. I didn’t have a problem with the writing, other than the plot. I am curious to read other stories from this author.

I probably won’t pick this book up ever again, and give this book 2 out of 5 stars.

Leave a Reply

