A Book Review By Little Sis

For this book review, I will be reviewing Cinder by Marissa Meyer. This is book one of the Lunar Chronicles.

The book starts off with the heroine named Cinder working at a stall in futuristic China as a mechanic. Her droid, Iko, is searching the market to buy a new foot for Cinder. Cinder is a cyborg.

While working at the market, the prince Kai visits Cinder’s stall to see if she would fix his android, Nainsi. Soon after he leaves, the market closes because a deadly plague, called  letumosis, has broken out.

The plague ends up striking Cinder’s family, and Cinder’s stepmother, Adri, sends Cinder to be a part of the plague research.

Meanwhile, Queen Levana, queen of Luna, the moon colony, is trying to take over all of humanity.

I like the fairy-tale of Cinderella, but I don’t like science fiction. So, I found the whole aliens trying to take over the world boring. I thought the re-telling of Cinderella part was really good. If the author would have just left the plot like that, I would’ve liked it more, but the aspect of science fiction ruined the story for me.

I give this story 2 out of 5 stars. I might recommend this story to people that like science fiction. Otherwise, I recommend reading the book Ella Enchanted instead if you are just looking for a re-telling of the fairy-tale Cinderella.

4 Responses to “A Book Review By Little Sis”

  1. thehomeschoolmomblog Says:

    I enjoyed this series. To be honest, I never thought of the Lunars as aliens, although I suppose that would technically be true. They look like humans; thus that particular angle never occurred to me. Interesting perspective…

    I enjoyed the interaction of various storybook characters. I thought the various story lines were well thought out and inventive. What I didn’t like was the more mature nature of some scenes, but overall found it well told.

    Have you read others in the series, or are you just venturing into this storyline? I’d love to hear what you thought of the remainder of the books.

    • dkjsv05 Says:

      This is the first book we have read so far. We do plan on finishing the whole series.

      I, personally liked the story. Sky and I was talking about how the writing was more maturely written than other YA novels, while she was writing her review. I liked that, and think it is a great example of good writing. As an adult I enjoyed the story compared to other “popular” novels geared towards teens.

      The girls are tough critics though. Sky is a Dickens and Gaiman fan. Little Sis is an Alcott and Bronte fan. Those are pretty big shoes to fill. 🙂

  2. divahomeschool Says:

    Awesome review! Thanks!

Leave a Reply

