A Book Review By Miss Sky

Today I will be reviewing the debut novel Cinder by Marissa Meyer , book one of The Lunar Chronicles.

The story is set in Beijing, China’s future, where humans live along cyborgs and droids. Our main heroine, Linh Cinder, is a cyborg mechanic that has been hired to fix future emperor Kai’s android. However, a deadly plague is threatening to destroy humanity. One of Cinder’s stepsisters falls ill, and Cinder’s stepmother donates Cinder to the cyborg draft research program hoping to find a cure for her daughter. Meanwhile, queen Levana of Luna, the moon colony, is making plans to overtake Earth.

I was never a fan of the story Cinderella to begin with, bullying is a very hard thing for me read. So, I wasn’t looking forward to reading another adaptation of the fairy-tale. That being said, I have mixed feelings about this book.

This story deals with human experimentation and inequality problems, so some of it was hard for me to read. Also, the plot was overwhelming at times. There was so much going on at once, I felt like I couldn’t catch my breath!

I’m also getting a little tired of villains being one-sided, where they are either too heartless or too whiny. I would like to see villains a bit more complex. Take Claude Frollo from Disney’s Hunchback Of Notre Dame, he could be cruel and conflicted at the same time, having more human like emotions. I felt Levana fell into the category of those same one-sided villain stereotypes, which was a little disappointing. I am willing to give the rest of the series a chance to see how Levana’s character progresses.

Honestly, the only thing I really liked about this book was the ending. The rest was just okay.

I give this book 3 and 1/2 out of 5 stars.

 

Leave a Reply

