Week In The Life (Don’t Be A Sissy)

Wish I could say that our spring break was a productive one, but it was too damn cold. It actually snowed! So, hibernation mode kicked in; close around the fire we stayed. I did manage to get lots of reading accomplished. I mean, what else is a break for, right? 🙂

I finally finished A Dance With Dragons (Yippee!). Then, after being a little depressed at what the heck I was going to read next, I found The Raven Boys series by Maggie Stiefvater. I love, love this story! It has a very Rebel Without a Cause, Outsiders vibe to it. Or maybe it is just me picturing Gansey as James Dean. 🙂

At first, I didn’t think I would like her writing style, but I was swept up into the story before I knew it. I could have easily stayed up all night finishing this story, but being a mom and all, I do have responsibilities. I still managed to finish the book in four days, and am well into book 2 :The Dream Thieves. Maggie Stiefvater has renewed my hope in YA fiction. I am just  a little disappointed that I didn’t wait to read it with the girls, because Sky would love it. This was the perfect series to fight off  my Game of Thrones blues.

Then, there were these muffins.

WP_20160413_13_43_32_Pro

Vegan, gluten-free carrot raisin oat muffins.

Carrot Cake Oat Muffins (vegan + gluten-free)

This was my first time using flax meal to replace eggs; we didn’t miss them. With Papa’s high cholesterol, and Little Sis being a pescatarian, I thought, why not give them a try. I am really glad I did.

Homeschool

Language Arts:

Reading:

Since on the subject of YA, we started reading: Throne of Glass by Sarah J. Maas. Sky was like: “Again?  Every story sounds the same.”, and Little Sis was like: “Another “tomboy” tough girl story?”, and I was like: “Yeah, I am getting tired of the whole love triangle thing.”; so, we all agreed to not finish it.

Little Sis is in a reading slump as well. She liked The Hunger Game series, and the book Divergent, but she lost interest halfway through reading Insurgent. Twilight still remains her favorite series, and she’s not finding anything new that meets its standards. I am hoping to start reading  Anne of Green Gables this summer. I am thinking she will really like that series.

Both girls are enjoying A Little Princess though. We started reading it after we quit Throne of Glass. We are listening along with the dramatic reading from LibriVox. A friend of theirs is the voice of Sara.

https://librivox.org/a-little-princess-dramatic-reading-by-frances-hodgson-burnett/

We are also reading a book I bought through Amazon Kindle for a dollar called: The Kingdom of the Sun and Moon by Lowell H. Press. The story takes place at Schönbrunn Palace, and I though we would give it a try. It’s okay, it probably won’t be listed on our favorites list from the year.

We watched a short documentary about one of our favorite authors, Beverly Cleary, to celebrate her 100th birthday.

http://www.opb.org/television/video/cove-oregon-art-beat-discovering-beverly-cleary/

Grammar:

I am continuing reading Basher’s book of Grammar, learning about nouns, pronouns, article, and adjectives. We also read chapters 1-6 of Grammar-land.

https://librivox.org/grammar-land-by-m-l-nesbitt/

I was able to save a copy of the story to my computer; I don’t know if it is still available for free anymore.

We watched the Schoolhouse Rock videos to go along with the parts of speech that we learned about as well(YouTube).

Handwriting:

The girls copied the poem Grodek ,by Austrian arthor George Trakl, in cursive.

WP_20160413_23_36_21_Pro

(Little Sis)

We also discussed what it meant.

Mathematics:

The girls warmed up at XtraMath, and Sky started Kumon’s Pre-Algebra workbook 2. Little Sis is continuing with multiplying 2 digits.

We purchased two new games, one card game, and one game for the Wii. Both are a hit.

WP_20160409_00_23_15_Pro

(Guillotine)

At first, the girls didn’t know if they were going to like it, but they did. We played it almost every night during spring break. It has been added to our favorites list.

WP_20160411_13_15_13_Pro

Science:

We read April’s issue of Science in the News. We have also started watching the show Cosmos again. The issue of Science in the News talked about tardigrades, and prompted the girls to want to re-watch the show.

History:

World/Geography:

We watched Geography Now! Austria (YouTube), and a documentary about the fall of the Habsburgs.  ~Franz Joseph 01.avi – (YouTube)

The girls added notes of Franz Joseph and Elizabeth of Austria to their timeline binders.

WP_20160414_23_40_01_Pro

WP_20160414_23_41_17_Pro

It is my goal to get all the European countries caught up to World War 1.

P.E.

The girls had homeschool gym, they practiced Yoga, and this week, with the weather finally feeling like spring, we went for a walk.

The Arts:

Culinary:

The girls took a free Craftsy course on bread baking. We will be using this recipe over the next couple of weeks.

WP_20160414_23_38_04_Pro

They did a great job. The girls have mastered making cakes, cupcakes, and cookies from scratch. We are moving on to breads. The girls already learned how to make French bread, now loaves.

The girls received a book on how to make five minute microwave cakes for Easter, and have been making them while on spring break.

WP_20160413_12_13_59_Pro

Theater Appreciation: (Stage and Big Screen)

We went to see a performance of The Little Princess.

WP_20160409_13_49_50_Pro

WP_20160409_13_50_47_Pro

The girls really enjoyed it. The young actors’ group that puts on these productions have so much positive energy. They are lots of fun to attend.

We watched the musical Into the Woods. I’m not really sure what to think about this musical. Most musicals have a point; the only point I took away from this musical was that the director could put a bunch of fairy-tales to music. I think this is the first musical that I didn’t like. Granted, I have not seen the stage version.

We watched the movie Mirror Mirror. I actually liked this movie. I thought it was a lot of fun. The girls liked it too.

We also watched The Maze Runner, and The Scorch Trials per Little Sis’s request.

Well, besides a dentist appointment, and having a friend over for most of their break, that pretty much sums up our past weeks. The girls still need shorts for summer, I just wasn’t feeling the summer shopping vibe. Did I mention it snowed. 🙂

Peace for the journey.

Leave a Reply

