Week In The Life (Hey! No Idleness Allowed)

So, naturally once our spring break was over, it would actually start feeling like spring; well, more like summer (where we actually in need of shorts). I have a feeling that summer is not going to be kind to my hot flashes this year. Oh well, what is a perimenopausal girl to do? Buy stock in ice manufacturing I guess; be thankful we have air conditioning. Maybe, actually go swimming like I have mentioned these last few years.

Our last summer kind of sucked with my back injury/surgery. So, I do plan on making it up to the girls.

I can honestly say that I have recovered to where I was before surgery. I am walking the same distance now as I did before my injury. Yoga has been such a tremendous help in  recovering. It is amazing how many times I need to correct my posture during the day. It’s amazing how such a little thing is so important, and can be taken for granted. Now, to get back on the losing weight bandwagon.

Our diet has gone through some major changes in the past year; now, with me being able to exercise fully again, I know it is only a matter of time. The waiting part is hard though.

This, will be the first time our family will not be buying half a steer this year. None of the men in Papa’s family have lived to see 60, all dying from heart disease. One of his brothers has already passed away, and two others have already had major heart attacks. The doctor told Papa that it wasn’t if, but when he has one himself. With him approaching 50 next year, change is our diet was inevitable.

Little Sis has also informed us that she no longer wants to eat meat. She still wants to eat seafood, so she is not quite a vegetarian, but pretty close. So, our meat consumption has drastically taken a nose dive.

Little Sis and I have had a really good week discussing nutrition. She understands, that she needs to make sure she is getting adequate amounts of protein. Since I am familiar with being a vegetarian once myself, I am able to help her find ways of adding it into her diet. She has inspired all of us to eat less meat, which I know will be beneficial to Papa’s heart, and with me finally being able to shed my baby weight; my fingers are crossed. 🙂

I was able to finish The Dream Thieves this week, and started book 3 in the series: Blue Lily Lily Blue. I am so loving this series. Sky, has been reading The Game of Thrones series on her Kindle. This is huge. Up until now she has only read graphic novels , or manga on her own time. We have had several discussions on how the books differ from the show. “Now, I understand why you like the books better.” She is actually surprised on how easy they are to read. I explained, that is what good writing does.

Homeschooling

Language Arts:

Reading:

Speaking of good writing, we finished The Little Princess. The girls loved it. Sky replied: “I am going to miss reading this story.” It will, for sure be added to our favorite books from the year list.

We continued reading The Kingdom of the Sun and Moon. This book has a lot of symbolism leading us into the French Revolution. It even mentions Napoleon’s son being raised in Austria.

Handwriting:

We discussed, and the girls copied the poem: Against Idleness and Mischief by Isaac Watts. The girls recognized this poem from Alice in Wonderland.

WP_20160419_16_27_19_Pro

(Sky)

Grammar:

We read/listened to Grammarland chapters 7-10, learning about interjection, verb, and verb’s three tenses. I also read about these topics from the Basher Grammar book, and we watched the Schoolhouse Rock videos on YouTube.

WP_20160419_20_52_42_Pro

Mathematics:

The girls warmed up at XtraMath, and worked in their Kumon workbooks.

WP_20160417_19_38_37_Pro

Science:

We are continuing re-watching Cosmos. Have I mentioned how much the girls love this show? They don’t even considerate it to be part of school.

History:

World/Geography:

The girls added notes on the Mayerling Incident to their notebooks.

WP_20160419_17_48_39_Pro

We watched Rick Steves’ episode: Alps of Austria and Italy – YouTube.

Music:

We learned about, and listened to Jahann Straus the second (The best of on YouTube), watched: A Corny Concerto (1943) “A Tale from Vienna Woods” & “Blue Danube” (YouTube), and the Tom and Jerry cartoon: Johann Mouse.

WP_20160421_23_20_40_Pro

Dance:

We watched: The Stanford Viennese Ball Opening Committee waltzes to Künstlerleben, or Artists’ Life, op. 316 , by Johann Strauss Jr. (YouTube)

P.E.

The girls had homeschool gym, practiced Yoga, and we walked around our block.

Culinary Arts:

The girls used the recipe from last week’s bread making class ( a Craftsy class) to make cinnamon rolls. They also made another loaf of bread. They have asked if they could make bread whenever they wanted, and I said:”sure”. 🙂

WP_20160421_23_19_04_Pro

I am thinking that when we are done with this dough’s different recipes , we might transition into our health course. With our discussion of nutrition this week, I think the timing is perfect.

The Arts:

We watched Alfred Hitchcock’s Waltzes from Vienna (YouTube). It was fun seeing some of his more famous shots in his earlier work.

Well, I think that is about it, besides me listening to Prince while typing this post.  😦

Peace for the journey.

4 Responses to “Week In The Life (Hey! No Idleness Allowed)”

  1. redheadmom8 Says:

    My son watches Cosmos for astronomy, and he also loves it. Your daughter would probably enjoy “The Universe,” as well. Thanks for sharing your week!

    • dkjsv05 Says:

      Yes, I believe we have watched that one, and the girls did like it too. So many wonderful programs available today. 🙂

  2. Megan Says:

    there are also a lot of food documentaries on netflix. eating healthy and whatnot. my kids always are fascinated by them.

    • dkjsv05 Says:

      Yes, I have saved Cooked from Michael Pollan to watch for our nutrition block. I am thinking now would be a good time. We really enjoyed FU (Fed Up). My dad also recommend Recipe Rehab which is on YouTube that we really like too.

      So many awesome choices, so little time. 🙂

      Though we are not technically “unschoolers”, I still believe learning happens best when following children’s interests.

Leave a Reply

