Week In The Life (What A Beast)

Fridays in our house are now known as having friends over days. I have enjoyed watching all those hours that I spent on hostess skills, emerge.

Today the girls made chocolate chip cookies, for those in between playing games/ watching anime snack breaks. I have also made sure the freezer is stocked with the appropriate teen binge foods. Sky is in charge of everything, such as making sure those favorite foods are added to our grocery list every week, as well preparing them. My job, is to stay out of their way.

I am no longer needed to chaperon “play-dates”. This has allowed for lots of free time for reading. 🙂 Which is a good thing too, because I finished Blue Lily Lily Blue just in time for the new release of The Raven King.

One of Papa and my goals is to have our bedroom completely set up how we want it, so the girls’ friends can hang out over at our house. This is something I picked up from my childhood best friend’s parents. Her house was our “safe haven”. Her parents would retire to their room and allow us the freedom to hang out downstairs. They knew where we were, and that we were safe.

I would love to have a big enough house with a family room to have a set space for friends to hang out; unfortunately, that just isn’t an option with our small quarters. However, rearranging our bedroom is. We even have a door that leads out from our bedroom onto our backyard deck, perfect for summer evening game nights.

Papa and I spent many nights playing rummy before Sky was born. I am happy with where I am on my journey right now, being able to spend time with Papa again. I thought it might be lonely with the girls not needing me as much, actually I love it. I love not needing to worry about where the girls are on the playground all the time, or if they are playing nice with the other children. I feel good knowing the girls are independent enough, and are capable of doing things without me.

Homeschooling

Language Arts

Reading:

We finished reading The Kingdom of the Moon and Stars. Sky said that it reminded her of Watership Down, but with mice.I didn’t think it bad for a first novel, but do think it could be revised a bit. I could sense the author was trying to go for a more mature type of story, but sometimes the dialog felt a little immature.

I decided to take a little detour this week and read The Jungle Book (found free for Kindle on Amazon), in honor of the new movie release. I didn’t realize before we started reading it, that the stories were originally published in a magazine; which would explain why they didn’t really follow the elements of a story very well. Now, I understand why the title was left so broad.

I didn’t really care for the story(ies) to be honest. I think, like Peter Pan, it is one of those stories that is better told visually. I am really excited to see the movie in theaters.

This was my first time reading Kipling too. I didn’t come away a big fan. Maybe, if I was a boy back in Victorian times curious about adventures in other countries, but being that I’m not, I personally think there are better writers out there to our spend time on.

WP_20160426_17_20_14_Pro

We listened to the story of Beauty and the Beast at Storynory too.

Handwriting:

We discussed, and the girls copied the poem: Beauty and the Beast by Jane Yolen in cursive.

WP_20160429_23_44_13_Pro

(Little Sis)

Grammar:

We read chapters 11-14 of Grammarland, learning about the nominative case, adverb, and preposition. I also read about them in Basher’s book of Grammar, and we watched the Schoolhouse Rock videos on YouTube.

Other videos we watched were the Ted-Ed videos: Does grammar matter?, Comma story, When to use “me”, “myself” and “I, and Grammar’s great divide: The Oxford comma debate (YouTube).

Mathematics:

The girls warmed up at XtraMath.org, and worked in their workbooks.

WP_20160425_14_17_10_Pro

History

World/Geography:

We watched the movie Marie Antoinette. I was impressed how accurate this movie was; the costumes and scenery was amazing too. (Thanks Big Sis)

http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0422720/

The Arts

Culinary:

Little Sis and I made vegan (using Earth Balance), gluten-free granola. She has been doing a good job keeping track of her protein. (Recipe from Feeding the Whole Family.)

WP_20160427_13_34_41_Pro

Theater Appreciation:

Stage: We attended a showing of The Lost Boys (a version of Peter Pan).

WP_20160424_14_16_52_Pro

It was recommended for older children since it dealt with darker elements of death. Basically, it was about Tinker Bell actually dying, and the different ways Peter Pan dealt with it. Not only did it fit in perfectly with our fairy-tale unit, it also fit in with psychology, and the 5 stages of grief.

Small Screen:

We watched Faerie Tale Theatre: episode 14 Beauty and the Beast – YouTube.

Drawing:

Being our usual YouTuber (Dramatic Parrot) hasn’t made a video of Disney’s Belle yet, we tried making a chibi version instead from Draw So Cute.

WP_20160428_16_30_19_Pro

On a side note, I have really been enjoying the soundtrack to the musical Hamilton.

P.E.

We took advantage of the weather, in between rain breaks, and walked around the block.

That about sums it up, peace for the journey.

3 Responses to “Week In The Life (What A Beast)”

  1. redheadmom8 Says:

    Your daughter has such nice handwriting! And are all of those Ted Ed videos on YouTube?

Leave a Reply

