Week In The Life (Here Comes The Sun, King)

So, Papa and I had our appointments this week. We found out that he has lost 17 pounds; I sure wish I could lose weight as easily as he can. Even with all the changes we have made to our diet, his triglycerides are still high. If that wasn’t enough, I found out my blood pressure is the highest it has ever been. I am kind of at a loss as to what to do next really.

I know my high blood pressure is because of my weight, and I have been working really hard at trying to lose it (excuse my language, but f**k the American diet!). I am really trying to remain positive, but it can be really hard when you see your husband dropping weight like nothing, and you are eating half of what he eats while busting your ass exercising.

I completely understand the science of how our body processes food. In fact, I actually wanted to be a dietitian. I understand, that in order for me to lose my stored fat, I need to eat less calories than what my body needs daily to function. I understand the difference between simple and complex carbohydrates. I know the difference between saturated and polyunsaturated fat, but when you have completely changed your diet, lost weight, are taking prescribed medication, as in Papa’s case, and are doing everything the guidelines tell you to do to lower your triglycerides and it still doesn’t work, then what?

I’ve been a vegetarian before, I can take or leave eating meat. Papa, on the other hand is a carnivore; he has however, willingly made the switch to grilled chicken and fish.

You really don’t notice how bad Americans are constantly bombarded by corporations trying to sell you their product, until you need to change your diet( It has become a running joke for us, to point out what we see actors eating on television shows.). You really begin to understand just how messed up this country ‘s  food choices are, when you are trying to find a place to eat that doesn’t revolve around something fried.

As you probably have figured out by now, nutrition has pretty much been the running theme for us this week. 🙂

Homeschool

Language Arts

Reading:

We continued reading The Scarlet Pimpernel. I will confess, that the story started out really slow. Once the action started to pick up though, the girls and I have been hanging on every word.

We started The Ogre of Oglefort by Eva Ibbotson. The girls have found this story to be an interesting read as well.

We listened, and read along with Fables in Rhyme for Little Folks by Jean de La Fontaine,

https://librivox.org/fables-in-rhyme-for-little-folks-by-william-trowbridge-larned/

and Shrek by William Steig.

We watched a few videos, two that I meant to watch while we were reading Alice in Wonderland, the Jabberwocky poem, and The Rather Curious History Of Alice. Both videos are by Mark Warner and found on YouTube. The other video was from one of my favorite booktubers, Novels and Nonsense’s 15 Facts on Frances Hodgson Burnett | Author Facts – also found on YouTube.

If you have not been introduced to BookTube, and you enjoy reading as much as I do, you are in for a treat. There are tons of video book reviews on YouTube. Some are better than others; it took me a while to discover my favorites, ones whom had similar tastes as myself. Ones that were being brutally honest.

Since on the subject of books, I have been at a loss as to what to read after finishing The Raven Cycle. My brother-in-law recommended I read the short story collection: The Knight of the Seven Kingdoms by George R.R. Martin. I have been enjoying it so far. I am not going to lie though, The Raven Cycle was pretty damn good. It has been really hard tying to move on from that series.

Handwriting:

We finished discussing, and the girls copied the rest of the poem: If by Rudyard Kipling.

WP_20160511_12_04_27_Pro

(Little Sis)

Vocabulary words:

heap, sinew, virtue, and foe

Grammar:

We started chapter 2, Team Sentence, from Basher’s book of grammar, discussing: simple sentence, syntax, clause, and phrase.

We watched videos from the YouTube channel Socratica about: the four types of sentences, subject, and predicate.

WP_20160511_12_10_49_Pro

Mathematics:

The girls warmed up at XtraMath.org, and continued working in their Kumon workbooks. Little Sis is multiplying 3 digits by 3 digits now.

WP_20160511_11_59_44_Pro

Science:

We watched John Oliver’s video on YouTube, about scientific studies, and how and why media outlets so often report untrue or incomplete information as science.

Health/Nutrition:

That video, lead us into our health and nutrition videos, first starting with Ted-Ed’s videos: How to spot a fad diet – Mia Nacamulli , and How do vitamins work? – Ginnie Trinh Nguyen – YouTube.

Other videos we watched were: What nutrients do our bodies need? – YouTube, Nutrition Basics: Why Food Matters-YouTube.

Buzz Feed’s videos:What 2000 Calories Look Like, and Serving sizes vs. what is usually consumed.-YouTube

Bill Nye’s video about digestion-Netflix,

and Crash Course’s A/P videos part 1 and 2 on digestion.-YouTube

We will be reading chapter 3 of David Macaulay’s Way We Work next week.

One of the perks of not spending lots of money on a curricula, is that it frees up our homeschooling budget to spend on building our home library.  Our home library only consists of books we will use multiple times.

If I had my way, our home would be nothing but books, however that wouldn’t quite fly with other members of the family. Reason number 200 of why I love e-readers. 🙂

History/Geography

We watched a video from Tom Richey’s YouTube channel, Louis XIV: Sun King of France – YouTube.

I also read about him from the DK Smithsonian World History book. The girls took notes, and added them to their notebooks.

WP_20160511_12_03_24_Pro

Dance:

We watched PBS American Masters documentary on the American Ballet Theatre- Prime

The girls added notes to their notebooks.

WP_20160516_15_53_43_Pro

The Arts

Drawing:

This week we learned how to draw a chibi cat from Draw So Cute-YouTube. We kind of improvised, and made it to look like Puss In Boots.

WP_20160512_23_14_47_Pro

We went to see The Jungle Book at the theater over the weekend. We all liked it all right. I was a little disappointed that it pretty much was the animated version, made CGI live- action. I mean it was a bit more action packed than the animated version; honestly, the songs ruined it for me. I can’t wait to see Andy Serkis’s version.

P.E.

We walked around the neighborhood.

Next week Papa is on vacation. We plan on doing more hands on work around the house, like getting our garden planted, and less “book work”.

We have about 6 weeks until we switch to our “summer school” schedule. Basically, I plan on finishing out the year with the French Revolution.

I think when we start our regular schedule back this fall, or as Sky says when “Winter is coming”, we will dig into the Civil War.

Peace for the journey.

Leave a Reply

