Week In The Life (Seeing Red)

This week I started a new book after finishing The Knight of Seven Kingdoms by George RR Martin. It took me a while to figure out what I was going to read next, since I am waiting to finish The Song of Ice and Fire series, and having finished The Raven Cycle series.

I am the kind of person that needs to change genre after reading from one. So, I can’t read fantasy while I am still reading a fantasy series, and I can’t read YA (though I can’t read much of YA anyway) because of just finishing a YA series. Crazy, right?

Actually it is kind of odd really, physically I am a creature of habit; I hate surprises, and I need to know in advance of any change to my routine. Sky, takes after me in this way. Mentally though, I need constant change. I think this is why I would never be able to plan out our school lessons a year in advance. My mind gets bored very easily. Little Sis, takes after me in this way.

I’ve never been one to read all the work of one writer before moving on to another writer, not that I think their other work wouldn’t be any good, it’s that I need to read from a different voice, and get a new perspective first. I am actually this way with everything, not just books. While I am typing this, I just realized why I need everything physically to be the same, and why I don’t like changes, because my mind is so chaotic . I need balance. Writing things out can be good like that. 🙂

Anyways, so I started thinking about the huge list of classics that I have been wanting to read, and picked out Agnes Grey by Anne Bronte. I loved The Tenant of Wildfell Hall, and it has been a while since I’ve read a Bronte, so why not. So far, I am enjoying it (she is still my favorite Bronte writer). It beats some of the YA choices out there anyway.

This got me thinking about the girls’ favorite authors and our reading choices (and my constant struggle to find stories they actually like). Though Little Sis loved the Twilight and Hunger Games series, she also loved Romeo and Juliet, Wuthering Heights, and Little Women. She is a romantic, and I can’t wait to read Jane Austin with her. She can’t stand literature that tries to be “cool”, or that uses slang, or what she calls: ” babyish”.

Sky, likes more of the darker psychological elements in literature, as well as graphic novels. Through the Woods by Emily Carroll, Alice in Wonderland, and The Little Princess (that both girls enjoyed) has been her favorite books we’ve read so far this year, besides Game of Thrones. She loves Death Note as well. Her favorite authors are Charles Dickens and Neil Gaiman.

Then it hit me, we are literary snobs, and it’s not because I’ve censored their reading choices either. I mean, the girls are free to read whatever they choose, and they naturally choose classics as their favorites. (Sky and I like Junie B. Jones, and we all love the Ramona series. Little Sis, on the other hand says Junie B. is too “babyish”, and she likes Ramona better ,because it doesn’t talk down to you. I am just happy they know what they like, and what they don’t).

So, this got me thinking about how much time I have wasted trying to read different fairy-tale adaptations, just for the sake of reading fairy-tale adaptations, that both girls have been bored with. I think the girls are quite capable of writing their own fairy-tale adaptations without needing to read other writers’ versions. I mean, if something is no longer enjoyable, that’s not mandatory that is, why continue?

So, I think I will just continue with reading the original fairy-tales themselves, that the girls have actually been enjoying, and move on. I know there will be certain books that need to be read, that the girls will eventually find boring. Honestly though, I think it is because they’re not “forced” to read and dissect the novel to death , that they really do enjoy discussing them (A day does not go by where we do not discuss Game of Thrones. In fact, Sky uses Martin’s writing to judge character development in other stories.), and has kept their reading experience enjoyable. Sky still doesn’t understand why people would dislike Shakespeare, and that makes me happy. 🙂

This is why I keep a blog of our progress, instead of just records. Not only does writing things out help to clear my mind, reading back over our progress helps me stay focused, and on track. It helps me see where we might be lacking, and what changes I might need to make. It also holds me accountable.

Homeschool

Language Arts

Reading:

We finished reading The Little Prince. This was a fun book to discuss with Sky. She completely understood the point the author was trying to make.

We are continuing with The Ballet Shoes. This is one of those stories I think we would have ditched if we were not so close to being done. All of us are finding it incredibly boring.

We also started Red by Liesl Shurtliff. This will probably be the last set of fairy-tale adaptations we read. So far, the girls are enjoying it, only time will tell though.

We listened to Perrault’s Little Red Riding Hood at Storynory.com, and Little Red Riding Hood and the Wolf Revolting Rhymes by Roald Dahl -YouTube.

Grammar:

We read chapter 3 of Basher’s grammar book.

Vocabulary:

conventional, prominence

WP_20160530_14_47_11_Pro

Handwriting:

The girls copied a poem about punctuation to add to their English notebook.

WP_20160530_14_40_42_Pro

 

(Sky)

Mathematics:

The girls warmed up first at XtraMath.org, then worked in their Kumon workbooks.

WP_20160530_14_42_08_Pro

Science:

This week was all about food science. We watched videos: The Spangler Effect – Sugar Science – YouTube,

8 Cheesy Science Facts  from SciShow- YouTube, and

Top New Species for 2016, and a Perching Robot!  SciShow – YouTube (not about food).

We listened to: The Show About Science podcast, episode 3- Food Science – found at Soundcloud.com.

Health:

Still reading through chapter 4 from The Way We Work. It has been interesting to break digestion down bit by bit to see how everything works together. We’ve had lots of interesting conversations about the way we work.

P.E.

Walks around the block.

History

World/Geography:

We watched a video from The School of Life: What is History for? – YouTube

We learned about Louis the 16th from: French History for English Children, and the girls added notes to their history timeline notebooks.

WP_20160602_23_53_28_Pro

I’ve decided that we will start our fall school schedule with The Enlightenment, then move into American History with the American Revolution. It just seems to make more sense than covering the Civil War then backtracking. Besides, this is where we left off with in our American History lessons anyway.

Art:

We learned about the impressionism art period, and watched: Impressionism – Overview – Goodbye-Art Academy – YouTube.

WP_20160602_23_54_13_Pro

This triggered lots of conversations about art, and artists. Sky has truly been enjoying learning about the art history movements; she actually knows more than I do.

The Arts

Theater Appreciation: (Small and Big Screen)

We watched Fairy-tale Theater’s version of Little Red Riding Hood. YouTube

We also watched 2012 musical of Les Miserables.

One of my favorite Nostalgia Critic’s reviews is of this movie (Found on YouTube, warning he does use profanity. Plus, it contains my favorite YouTuber, Kyle from Brows Held High). Sky has actually learned how to write a theater analysis just from watching the Nostalgia Critic. Soon, she will be writing her own reviews.

Well, another  week finished.

Peace for the journey.

 

Leave a Reply

