Week In the Life (“You Say You Want A Revolution.”*)

In the last seven years I have been writing, I don’t think I have ever been nominated for the Liebster Award. Thank you Natural Homeschooling Mom.

Liebster Award Nominees

I really didn’t start writing my blog to gain readers, it is more for me to help sort out my thoughts, help out-of-state family keep up with what the girls are doing, and to document our homeschooling in case I would ever need to prove it. If my jumbled, opinionated thoughts can help anyone else that has chosen to homeschool their children, even better. I won’t lie, it is nice to read comments how a post may have helped someone, and I am incredibly thankful for the shout-out.

I am sorry to say, that since I’ve started homeschooling high school, I don’t read as many blogs as I would like. Sometimes, I’ll leave a comment here or there, if I liked a post. I think it’s nice when homeschoolers help each other out, and give encouragement.

Most of the bloggers that started writing when I did, have since moved on. So, I don’t really have a list of other bloggers to nominate. There are SO many new ones from when I first started mine. Then, I always get this guilty feeling that I might have left someone out, or hurt someone’s feelings if they were not mentioned. I think anyone that takes time out of their day to write, and helps others should be nominated.

I do think that it might be fun to answer a few questions though, since I keep myself so mysterious and all. 🙂

1. What is the strangest thing you have ever eaten?

My family has never been afraid to give  new foods a try. Big sis, is always bringing over weird things for the girls to taste, and thanks to her, last summer we went to an annual bug fest held at our local park. Can you see where this is going? Yes, we indulged in eating crickets. There was bbq covered crickets, all the way to chocolate covered ones. Sky, loves them; I would need to be really hungry to want eat any more, but hey, at least I tried them.

2. If you could read only one book for a year, what would it be?

Wow, this is going to take a lot of thought. Have I mentioned that I love books?

Since it can only be one book, and not a series (because I would want to read the whole series), it would need to be a big one. Since, there are very few books on my read it again list, it would probably need to be one I have not read yet. So, I am thinking either Les Miserables by Victor Hugo, War and Peace, or Anna Karenina by Leo Tolstoy. All three of these are on my TBR (to be read) list. Then, one of my favorite books, that I could read over and over, is The Stand by Stephen King. Oh decisions, decisions.

Well, since it can only be one, I choose Anna Karenina.

3. What is your favorite charity and why?

Wow, another tough one. I am going to keep it local though, and say Riley’s Children Hospital. I believe everyone deserves a chance at life whatever your annual income happens to be, but especially children.

4. What person present day or history would you most like to have a conversation with?

Okay, I think it is safe for me to say that all of these questions are pretty tough.

There are lots of people I would love to have a conversation with. Honestly though, all of their knowledge would be dated, and I have learned what I’ve needed from them already. So, for me it would be my grandfather. I lost him way before I was prepared to. His death, was the first tragic death I was old enough to understand. His death was not a surprise, it was a slow decline from terminal brain cancer. His death, literally changed the way I perceive life, one that I’ve carried with me into adulthood.

I would love to sit and just listen to every story he had to tell; ones about his childhood, World War 2, parenting, gardening, home maintenance, any and everything.

5 .Why did you start blogging?

I kind of already answered this. I will  add, that I view my blog like a journal. Writing, helps to sort my many thoughts. Sometimes, I don’t even know what I’m going to write; before I know it, I’ve filled the page and I am like wow, where did that come from?

I guess you could call my decision to homeschool, my experiment with education and how children learn. This is our learning journey.

6. What would be your dream occupation?

Anything, besides being a teacher (I couldn’t teach the same subjects every year without getting bored),  that has to do with working with children. I use to watch children before I started homeschooling, and I really liked it. There is something about preserving innocence, and allowing every child a safe haven to grow into their true self, that just makes my heart sing.

7. If you could do anything to make this world a better place, what would it be?

This kind of goes with my answer to question 6. I believe, that when you raise happy, confident children, ones that understand their strengths and weaknesses (instead of pride, hatred, and greed), *they* will have the knowledge and power to change the world.

It must start at home, for everyone, not just children. This is why I am completely open and honest with my struggles here. My childhood was far from perfect, and it takes lots of work to jump off the merry-go-round we were brought up on. I suffer from anxiety and depression, but I am also compassionate and empathetic. I embrace my strengths and weaknesses. They make me, me.

8. What is the one thing that will always make you feel better?

Music, music, and more music. I love music! That, and my husband’s shoulder, while listening to music together. 🙂

9.What do you most admire about yourself?

My ability to grow and evolve. I don’t have all the answers, and don’t pretend that I do. I am not scared to admit to being wrong. I have been wrong lots of times, but I’ve learned not to make the same mistake twice.

10.What is your favorite childhood memory?

Anything involving my grandparents. The best thing my parents ever did for me, was allow my paternal grandparents to watch me while they went to work.

11. Do you have a bucket list?

I view them more as goals. Papa and I worked very hard to get out of debt. Our next goal is to have our house paid off in the next 5 years.

We split the money we are saving, from paying off our debt, into savings, and matching our mortgage principal payment with the rest. We are also trying to update our home to be ready for when we are older. That has not been an easy task.

I know this is kind of boring, but we are setting our home up where we would want to vacation at. Indiana has beaches, city, country, hills, hiking, canoeing, skiing, and caves. It has everything we want for a day trip.

Whew, that was a lot of pondering. Thanks again for the nomination.

Instead of asking questions, I would love to hear answers in the comments to some of these great questions. What book would you choose? I could talk books, film, and music all day folks. 🙂

Speaking of: I finished Agnes Grey, and really liked it. It wasn’t the best story ever, but I wanted to continue reading it. I was truly interested in the characters. I still think Anne was the better writer out of her sisters. Even her simplest book held my attention. I even like her poetry the best.

I think this story would make a great read aloud, or a study of governesses and their place in Victorian society.

I have started Frog Music by Emma Donoghue. This is my first story I’ve read by her. It has mixed reviews, I am glad I’m reading it before I read Room. I am enjoying it so far.

Homeschool

Language Arts

Reading:

We finished The Ballet Shoes, and dropped Red. All of us agree The Ballet Shoes was boring. I’ve read it being compared with The Little Princess, the girls could not disagree more.

Handwriting:

The girls copied, and we discussed: The Poor Children by Victor Hugo.

WP_20160607_16_01_55_Pro

(Little Sis)

Vocabulary:

heed, hath, fleshy, stammer, sinless, minister, ragged

Grammar:

We finished the Basher book on Grammar.

Mathematics:

The girls warmed up at XtraMath.org, and they continued working in their Kumon workbooks.

Health:

We continued reading: The Way We Work, and watched, Spit: Everything You Never Wanted To Know – YouTube from It’s Okay To Be Smart.

P.E.

The girls had homeschool gym, we weeded the garden, and walked around the block.

WP_20160607_16_00_04_Pro

Science:

We watched: How Recycling Works – YouTube from SciShow, and Recycling, and Composting videos from SciShowKids -YouTube.

We listened to a podcast about recycling from: The Show About Science (on Dreamcloud), and learned how recycled potato chip bags, and Capri Sun containers get reused at Terracycle.

History

World/Geography:

We read both chapters about The French Revolution from French History for English Children.

We watched Tom Richey’s videos 1-5 about the French Revolution-YouTube

  1. The Old Regime
  2. The Estates General of 1789
  3. The National Assembly
  4. Declaration of the Rights of Man and the Citizen
  5. Civil Constitution of the Clergy

Art:

We learned about Monet, and the girls colored La Promenade, and added notes to their notebooks.

WP_20160609_23_19_05_Pro

We will be using a couple of books for Art History, one being Art Explained by Robert Cumming, as well as videos, and we watched: Art with Mati and Dada – Edgar Degas, and Claude Monet Biography – Goodbye-Art Academy – YouTube.

We also discussed the painting: Death of Murat by Jacques-Louis David.

The Arts

Culinary:

Little Sis has been reading: The Smart Girl’s Guide To Going Vegetarian, and we’ve tried a few recipes.

For starters, hamburgers have been turned into tuna or salmon burgers around here. I have been using flax egg substitute to replace the eggs, with great results for a healthier burger.

I’ve been adding Chia seeds where ever I can, and made vegan plain pancakes, and sweet potato pancakes for breakfast.

Little Sis and I are the only ones that will eat sweet potatoes; I love them, and can eat them  plain, baked, mashed or as french fries.

So, Little Sis and I loved the pancakes. The plain ones were a huge success by all, and this has become my go to pancake recipe (after my oat flour pancakes). They are super quick, and easy.

Allergy Friendly Friday: Sweet Potato Pancakes

Vegan Fluffy Pancakes

Drawing:

I haven’t updated the girls’ drawings for a while.

Sky, has been working on a story.

WP_20160609_23_21_02_Pro

WP_20160609_23_21_51_Pro

WP_20160609_23_22_20_Pro

WP_20160609_23_22_40_Pro

Little Sis has been practicing drawing herself. This is her hand reaching for her door.

WP_20160607_16_00_53_Pro

We watched the movie: The Ballet Shoes. I thought, maybe it would be one of those times when the movie is actually better than the book, but no. They were equally bad.

We also watched Ponyo again, which we love!

Well, I see the lightening bugs are out and about; I think summer has hit Indy. We have one more week left until we switch to our summer schedule.

Peace for the journey.

* Revolution by the Beatles

 

2 Responses to “Week In the Life (“You Say You Want A Revolution.”*)”

  1. Bronwen Lee Says:

    I’m sorry the questions were tough, they were things I would ask if I was getting to know someone new. Which is exactly what I got to do. It’s nice to know you! Your blog has been one I’ve come back to many times. It is helpful, so thank you!

Leave a Reply

