Week In The Life (“It Was the Worst of Times*)

I’m going to be honest, I have no idea how to start this post.

As I’m sure you’ve heard, America has taken another blow straight to the heart this week. As someone that suffers from depression, I don’t want to add to the sadness; yet, I find myself having trouble writing anything positive at the same time. It feels awkward writing about trivial things that happened to our family this week, when so many are mourning.It feels awkward, yet again, to just go on with our lives as if nothing has happened. Is this the new normal? “Someone has senselessly gunned down more innocent victims today, please pass the carrots.”

I don’t want to write about politics, or religion. I don’t want to write about gun rights. I don’t want to write about homosexuality, or transgenders. I don’t want to write about gorillas, or alligators, or perfect parenting. There is already enough of that noise.

I can’t even begin to tell you how many song lyrics that daily pass through my mind. The one song that has constantly been stuck in my head these last few days is: Seasons of Love from the musical Rent. I think that is what my soul, and our country, needs right now, a season of love.

I am not exactly sure how to accomplish this yet, but I am thankful we were able to complete our last week of long lessons, just in time for a much needed break.

Homeschool

Language Arts

Reading:

We started Gregor the Overlander by Suzanne Collins. Little Sis, has been curious to check out this series, since she loved The Hunger Games. We are on part 2 in the story, and are still not quite sure what to think about it yet.

We watched:The History of Sleeping Beauty | Fairy Tales with Jen – YouTube. One of my favorite BookTubers,

and the TedEd video: The Evolution of the Book-YouTube.

Handwriting:

The girls copied the first paragraph from: A Tale of Two Cities by Charles Dickens.

WP_20160613_23_50_04_Pro

(Sky)

I thought I would explain why I, usually, pick poetry to use for handwriting practice.

In the beginning, I would pick fun seasonal poems for the girls to copy just for practice. Now, not only does Sky get to practice her cursive, which she still struggles with, we also analyze what she is copying. This counts toward her literature credits (world, British, and American).

Vocabulary:

epoch, incredulity, superlative

Grammar:

The girls started new workbooks this week. Sky, started Barron’s E-Z English. When she completes this book, she will have completed her language arts credits for English 1 and 2.

Little Sis, started Kumon’s grade 4 writing workbook.

We also watched: English Grammar videos videos 1-6 from Socratica for a review. YouTube

WP_20160613_23_47_49_Pro

Heath:

We continued reading chapter 3 of: The Way We Work.

P.E.

We Yoga Walked indoors.

Mathematics:

The girls warmed up at XtraMath.org, and worked in their Kumon workbook.

WP_20160613_23_44_07_Pro

For our lighter summer schedule, the girls will continue working on math, grammar, reading, and P.E. Everything else, we will pick back up in the fall.

This allows more time for us to spend outdoors, gardening, time to have their friends over for Friday nights pizza, games and movies, and closer friends over even more, swimming, and more time for the girls to work on their own projects.

WP_20160617_00_05_36_Pro

(Sky)

WP_20160617_00_06_00_Pro

(Little Sis, Dover Seashore Life coloring book)

In my opinion, this is just as important as academics.

Science:

We watched: Scishow Kids What’s the Difference Between Fruits and Vegetables? – YouTube,

The Dirt on Decomposers Crash Course Kids-YouTube,

New Ancient Human Fossils from SciShow-YouTube,

and listened to podcast 011: Fossils and Rocks with Duncan Findlay by The Show About Science | Free Listening on SoundCloud.

Garden update: Everything is doing really good so far. We’ve harvested the last of our strawberries, and I made strawberry jam.

WP_20160611_16_13_56_Pro

History

World/Geography:

We watched lots of videos this week.

For starters, we watched: Geography More! Austria, Geography Now! Denmark, and latitude and longitude from Dig Into History -YouTube.

We finished the French Revolution series from Tom Richey. YouTube

6. Women and the French Revolution

7. Marie Antoinette

8. Oylmpe de Gouges

9. Mary Wollstonecraft vs. Edmund Burke

10. Charlotte Corday and the Death of Marat

11. Concluding Remarks

This was a very well done series, and I highly recommend it. He also has free curriculum to go along with his videos on his website, that you can find linked on his YouTube page.

We watched: The French Revolution: Crash Course World History #29 – YouTube, and The French Revolution for Dummies: World History Review – YouTube Keith Hughes.

Sky took a quiz, and the girls copied notes in their notebook.

http://www.studenthandouts.com/Games-03/MC-The-French-Revolution-42-Questions.html

WP_20160617_00_00_36_Pro

We watched the BBC series: The Rise and Fall of Versailles parts 1-3-YouTube. Being this was made by BBC, there is brief nudity, mostly in episode 2, so use your own judgement. The documentary plays like a movie, and Sky found it very interesting.

We also watched: A Tale of Two Cities (1935).

http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0027075/

Oh my, what a touching story, to add to an already heartbreaking week. I loved that Charles Dickens told the story from both the aristocrat’s and the common people’s point of view. This book has been added to my TBR.

Art:

We learned about Pierre-Auguste Renoir, and watched Pierre-Auguste Renoir Biography – Goodbye-Art Academy – YouTube.

I printed off a By the Seashore coloring page, and the girls copied notes.

WP_20160616_23_58_46_Pro

We read about the Impressionist movement from: DK Art That Changed the World, the other book we are using for art history.

 

Well, that is about it. Now that my brain can take a much-needed break from school lessons, I am ready to get out and spend some unplugged time with mother nature and my family this weekend. Wishing all the Papas out there a very happy father’s day.

Peace for the journey.

  • A Tale of Two Cities by Charles Dickens
2 Responses to “Week In The Life (“It Was the Worst of Times*)”

  1. Bronwen Lee Says:

    I too have no idea what it is we are supposed to do with this kind of heartbreak. It’s sadness and fear all mingled up and stinging. I know humanity will overcome, I know that love and understanding always show up massively in times likes these, so I take heart in humans.While the little things may seem trivial, that doesn’t it’s not important to others. Your posts always help me tremendously. They make me smile, they give me new youtube channels I’ve never heard of, they make me think. Yours is one of the few blogs I call my children in to see. So I think this is what we do. We keep creating positivety, Our blog connection may be small, but it’s a positive one. And every little bit of light in the world should be cherished.

Leave a Reply

