Week In The Life (Not, Taking Its Toll)

Ahh….summer.

I did this crazy thing last year while recovering from back surgery, I added boards on Pinterest for every subject Sky will need credits for to graduate. Then, I added tons of resources for each one, more than I will ever be able to use. In other words, I have high school pretty much planned out. So, what am I now to do with all this free time on my hands? Read, of course.

I do want to say something about homeschooling high school, especially to those that might be new to homeschooling. I absolutely love it!

I will not lie though, it scared the crap out of me, still kind off does. It did take me a while to figure it out, but now our days flow really well.

In all honest truth, I think the hardest part about homeschooling, besides finding your groove, is getting younger children to cooperate. I promise you, it does get easier as they get older.

I love having the in-depth conversations that Sky and I have. All those learning trails we followed, and allowing her the space to come to her own conclusions, have really paid off. She is such a deep-thinking young lady.

Reading though, that is what I wanted to write about.

I finished Frog Music by Emma Donoghue. I enjoyed it alright. It is based off the real murder of Jenny Bonnet, a cross dressing woman from San Francisco during the late 1800s. I didn’t care too much for the protagonist, I just couldn’t relate to her at all. I did love the historical setting of the novel though, and think it was worth the read, just for that reason alone.

Then, I read the Haunting of Hill House by Shirley Jackson. This novel, literally left me speechless. I read it in two days, because I could not put it down. Jackson’s writing is hypnotizing, absolutely beautiful. This novel, now holds second place, under Frankenstein, on my top 5 favorite books list. There are very few books, that I want to read over and over, this is, by far, one of those books.

I loved this story so much, that I had to buy the ’63 movie version. I can’t wait to watch it this weekend with the girls, and I am happy to add it to our Halloween movie collection.

So, this has lead me on a haunted house, reading kick. I am already halfway through The Shining by King. I’m not really sure why I’ve never read this one before, but I am really enjoying it (I have not seen the movie). I’ve already read: The House by Bentley Little, and The Amityville Horror by Jay Anson, any other recommendations?

Homeschool

We ditched reading the Gregor series. None of us, was in the mood for another “go on a quest” type of story. I have a problem with adult authors that try to write  “21st century” child characters. I understand exactly how Little Sis feels about books “talking down” to you. It insults our intelligence.

So, we are reading, and enjoying,  The Phantom Tollbooth instead.

WP_20160623_13_39_15_Pro

The girls continued working in their english and mathematics workbooks.

WP_20160623_13_38_03_Pro

We practiced Yoga, and the girls have made several of the cakes now from the mug cake recipe book. My favorite, so far, is the strawberry shortcake.

For father’s day, the girls surprised Papa with chocolate cupcakes.

WP_20160618_17_11_18_Pro

They found the recipe on-line for the cupcakes, the icing, and baked them all by themselves. They were delicious.

We watched: Beauty and the Beast (With Some Jerk with a Camera!) – Brows Held High – YouTube. This was a wonderful critic of the differences between Cocteau’s and Disney’s Beauty and the Beast. Again, they do use some profanity, so use your own judgement.

The girls have had a friend over for the majority of the week, so not too many individual projects have been started as of yet. Not a bad start though.

Peace for the journey.

Leave a Reply

