Week In the Life (Sixty Pounds of Tomatoes, and What Do You Get?)

A stiff back, that’s what.

Over the weekend, Papa and I gathered all the ripe Roma tomatoes off their vines and made sauce. If you are interested, 60 pounds of tomatoes makes about 13 jars of tomato sauce.

WP_20160814_12_53_53_Pro

If everything goes right, we should be able to get at least 30 jars from our plants this year (judging by the rest of the crop that is left). That should last us until next year. So note to self, 20 Roma tomato plants are the perfect amount.

We also harvested most of our potatoes.

WP_20160813_15_05_15_Pro

Not bad, Papa was hoping for more. They did however, fill a 25 pound box.

We are trying to decide if we want to add a few raised beds to grow our broccoli and peppers in, and plant only potatoes at the top of the hill next year. Our broccoli is not quite finished yet, but getting close. So far, we’ve managed to fill 4 gallon size bags. We would like to plant twice as much next year; which would be about 14 plants. To plant more would mean, we would need more space.

We are for sure, going to add one raised bed to grow raspberries next year. So, I guess we will just figure it out then.

So let’s see, that makes: garlic, tomato sauce, frozen strawberries, strawberry jam, frozen broccoli, potatoes, green and jalapeno peppers from our garden to help get us through the winter. Check.

From the help of local farmers: frozen corn, frozen peaches, peach jam, frozen blackberries, blueberries, and raspberries to get us through the winter. Check.

I think all that’s left is apples; which we just happened to purchase our first 5 pound bag of Ginger Gold over the weekend. I see applesauce and apple butter in our near future.

Homeschool

Language Arts

Reading:

We are still reading: The Scorpio Races. The girls are enjoying it so far; it is another perfect novel for summer.

We also watched The Little Prince animated movie on Netflix. We liked it okay. I thought the first half of the movie was great; the second half went a little off track for me. Though, I actually was thinking about why the creators of this movie might have taken the story in the direction they did. I have always thought that The Little Prince was a fairy-tale for grown-ups to read. I think the message can get lost on children. Maybe, the creators wanted to make the message clear for all ages. It will still always be one of my favorite stories.

I finished Room by Emma Donoghue. Wow, is all I can say about this novel. I have read some complaints, that people don’t like that the story is told from a five-year-old’s point of view, I beg to differ. I thought, telling the story from Jack’s perspective was brilliant.

I think it would have been too easy to relate to Ma’s struggle from her point of view. In fact, many of us have battled our own demons and understand quite well how that feels; but to experience Ma’s struggles through a five-year-old, gave me a completely different perspective. One that, we are not able to see when going through those same struggles. Sometimes, I wish we were able to see things from a child’s point of view.

I also watched the movie, heart-wrenching.

So, to read something completely different, Room is one of those novels that will stay with you a very long time, I am reading: At the Water’s Edge by Sara Gruen. I am not usually big on historical romance stories, but I needed cheese. However, this story really surprised me. I wouldn’t really call it a romance story, but more of a historical coming-of-age story. I will probably finish it tonight. I mean, I don’t need sleep.

WP_20160814_12_58_55_Pro

Health/Nutrition :

We watched:What Really Causes Sunburns by PBS Gross Science- YouTube.

P.E.

More swimming.

The girls created their own movie theatre.

WP_20160812_20_54_50_Pro

Not to sound like a broken record, but this is why children need to have time for themselves. Yes, academics, and even real socialization ( not forced assimilation) are extremely important, but so is creativity.

We’ve pretty much had the whole swimming pool to ourselves these last couple of weeks, and they open after school hours. Which is cool, my laps have been getting faster. I also find this a bit sad too, I mean it is still summer. If you didn’t know, a heatwave hit the Midwest. Yet, instead of being able to cool down in the pool, the children here have been stuck at school.

Then, while walking to the pool, from the parking lot, we can see the children having football practice. After this, I’m sure it is dinner, homework, and to bed, just to get up and do it all over again tomorrow. Oh, and I’m not talking about high school students here.

When do children ever get to be bored? It is no wonder when children do have a little free time, they want to spend it on-line or watching television. ( I am not anti “screen-time” by the way.) It would drive me insane, and I’m an adult.

Oh well, the only thing I can do, is give my children a little time to grow in.

Peace for the journey.

Leave a Reply

