Week In The Life (What A Beauty)

I am finding it hard to want to write today. I am actually pushing myself though, because I’ve found that when I don’t want to write, it usually means that I need to.

I am just not feeling our lessons right now, my head is extremely cluttered. Honestly, I think it is because of this whole presidential mess.

I also find myself feeling this way when I’m trying to take on more than what the girls can handle. This is why, I can not plan a whole school year out in advance, because I start to panic about how I am going to fit everything in, and leave no time for detours. Then, I start becoming all drill Sargent only making things worse; real learning happens naturally, it can not be forced.

Next, I usually find myself frustrated with the system, I can only imagine how school teachers must feel. I mean, my whole daughter’s future relies on whether or not she completes all her math credits in time. Which pisses me off, because children’s futures are basically set on how our brains are wired, which is an evolutionary process we have no control over. Some brains have evolved to understand physics, thank goodness. However, just because my daughter can’t, does not make her (and all the other children like her) a failure.  Yuck, sometimes I don’t have anything nice to say; which is why I don’t feel like writing in the first place.

Though, I do think it is important to share the bad stuff too. I mean, I’ve been at the homeschooling thing now for awhile, and I still have bad moments. I still question myself.

As always, I usually find what is behind my funk by writing it all out, and I think I just discovered the root of the problem. I feel powerless. My hands have been tied, tied over the candidates running for office( all of them), tied over the system ever changing, tied of anything ever changing. We don’t have time for four more years of doing the exact same things, and we sure as hell can’t afford moving backwards.We have deep, seeping wounds that need immediate attention (another company, members of Papa’s union went to Mexico) .

Gloom and doom. Yes, I think it is safe to say my anxiety is back. I am extremely sensitive, and the last few weeks have been torture. Add all this along with a very emotional documentary, it is no wonder I am feeling down (hormones, and lack of exercise this week are probably not helping matters).

So, where does this leave us? I have been on this train long enough to understand when a break is needed. With the Presidential debates over, I think a week of holiday fun is just what the doctor ordered.

Homeschooling

 

Language Arts

Reading:

We finished Black Beauty. This story will be added to our favorite stories from the year list. We highly recommend it.

We attempted: Something Wicked This Way Comes by Ray Bradbury, but gave it the ax. We just couldn’t get in with his writing style. Sky takes a lot after me in this way: “Too much description, I am all about straight forward prose. There is setting the atmosphere, and just plain beating the heck out of you with it.”.   🙂

I guess this is another one of those novels where we will watch the movie instead. It’s very odd for me to have two novels in a row like this.

We also started D’Aulaires’ Book of Greek Mythology.

Mama’s reads:

Speaking of movies, I loved the movie adaption of the novel: Carol by Patricia Highsmith. The acting was wonderful, and the cinematography was beautiful. This movie has been added to my favorites list of the year.

As far as the novel: The Little Stranger by Sarah Waters goes, it is okay. I am almost done, probably will finish it this weekend. The story just drags for me in parts. I keep waiting for the plot twist, and I guess there is one, only to be disappointed. Maybe, that is my problem, but if I were to judge the novel right now as it stands, I think it could have been better. So far, these last few months my novel choices have been mediocre. I am due for an “amazing” one soon.

Handwriting:

The girls copied the next 1/3 of the poem: Iron Horse in cursive.

Grammar/ Vocabulary:

The girls worked in their Root Word workbooks and had the words:

gait, burnished, mettle, smolders, rapture, palpitated, ire, reel, sublime.

Sky continued working in her Barron’s English book.

Creative writing/ Writing:

We discussed chapter 2 of Basher’s creative writing book, and Little Sis continued working in her Kumon writing workbook.

 

Mathematics:

Girls warmed up at XtraMath.

Little Sis worked in her workbook, and Sky has grasped adding and subtracting negative integers. Time to move on.

More Fortune Street.

WP_20161020_12_50_04_Pro

 

Science:

Netflix added the television show: Startalk for streaming. I have been listening to the podcast for years, (I am a big fan of Neil deGrasse Tyson, Richard Dawkins, and Lawrence Krauss.) and am glad to be able to watch the show with the girls (also, a much better example of what deep discussions look like).

 

History

World:

We watched Indian Summers.

Civics:

We watched: the last Presidential and our Governor debate,

State Legislatures and ALEC,

and Third Parties: Last Week Tonight with John Oliver. YouTube

You can find you state representatives by zip code at Project Vote Smart, to see where they stand on issues.

http://votesmart.org/

Sky and I also watched the documentary: 13th on Netflix. I highly recommend everyone to watch it. It is an extremely touching documentary that left the both of us speechless (and in tears). I feel the content is best for high school level and up, not only are some parts graphic, but I think the topic itself might be a bit hard for younger viewers to comprehend.

We continued our way through Barron’s American Government book.

 

The Arts

Theater Appreciation (Small Screen):

I tried to lighten the emotional mood of the week a bit by watching Fox’s Rocky Horror Picture Show. Yes, I am one of them. This musical is a Halloween tradition that predates me “married with children”. The girls have had the soundtrack pounded into their heads, and have known about transsexuals long before Obama. So, to say I was disappointed is an understatement. I think I will have Sky write one of her theater critiques from this production.

Comics: Art in Relationship

This week Sky’s assignment was to take assigned script and choose three different comic grid templates to create a visual story.

WP_20161021_13_55_49_Pro

WP_20161021_13_55_28_Pro

WP_20161020_12_51_49_Pro

 

P.E.

The girls had homeschool gym.

As always, peace for the journey.

Leave a Reply

