Week In the Life (“A Few Of My Favorite Things*)

The last post of 2016.

I was just thinking: what a year, when I read the news about Carrie Fisher. I was just thinking: how this post was going to wrap up our school year, and I would share some of my favorite presents from the holidays.

WP_20161226_18_11_27_Pro

Yep, we just saw Rogue One yesterday. We were still discussing the movie right up until we went to bed. I read the news today while uploading my photos.

Did I mention my favorite gifts from the holidays?

WP_20161227_13_19_39_Pro

(From Little Sis)

WP_20161227_13_21_24_Pro

(From Sky)

Guess which ones are mine. 🙂

After the movie, we came home and took down our Star Wars tree. We wrapped each ornament and placed them in their proper boxes, ready to be pulled out next year.

I’m not just a Star Wars fan though, Carrie Fisher was a very talented writer. Postcards From the Edge is one of the first books I’ve ever laughed out loud reading. She was also one of the first famous people to ever speak out openly about Bipolar depression.  She made mental illness famous, and helped give me the courage to open up about my anxiety and depresion, Thank you. RIP

2017, we could sure use some cheer.

 

Homeschooling

I am going to try to categorize our last week of school for the year. After a long talk from the girls, our last week resembled the essence of what our Christmas school should look like; a little of this, and a little of that, and lots more fun.

Language Arts

Reading:

We read: The Nutcracker. This is one of the girls’ favorite Christmas stories. While trying to find a new story to read this year, I didn’t realize how much the girls would prefer to read their favorites; lesson learned.

 

Independent reading:

Little Sis, is almost done with Unbelievable. She will probably finish it up today or tomorrow and start reading the next one while on break. I am sure we will be watching lots of episodes of the show while on break too.

Sky, is almost finished with One Flew Over the Cuckoo’s Nest. We will probably watch the movie soon. She received some graphic novels for Christmas that she is interested in starting too.

Mama’s reads:

I finished Hex by Thomas Olde Heuvelt. I am sorry I finished it, honestly. It took my rating from 2 stars, down to 1. I give the novel 1 star, because the author’s writing isn’t bad, and he did manage to bring closure to the plot. I understood where the plot was heading pretty early on. “It’s not the creature that is evil, but humanity.” This wouldn’t have been so bad if: one, I hadn’t read this theme 100 times already; or two, the plot was actually scary.

When I explained to Sky, how the plot was about a witch from the Salem witch trial era putting a curse on the town before being burned at the stake, she said:” I wish people wouldn’t write stories about witches having powers, it takes away from all the innocent people that were murdered during that time for supposedly being witches.” Though the ending was kind of trying to portray this, I agree with Sky.

I am a little disappointed Stephen King recommended this.

I am about halfway through: Mystic River by by Dennis Lehane, and enjoying it very much. At least my reading will end on a good note in 2016.

 

Handwriting:

The girls copied the last stanza of :A Christmas Carol by Christina Rossetti.

 

WP_20161223_13_23_30_Pro

(Little Sis)

 

Mathematics:

The girls warmed up at Xtramath, and continued working on review.

Winter Solstice brought us a new game.

WP_20161221_22_38_57_Pro

Deer in the Headlights. This is a great game for adding, and learning odd and even. You roll three dice, and what you roll determines the action you take with your cards. The first person to get rid of all your cards wins the round. The one with the less points wins after 10 rounds or when a person reaches 150.

WP_20161223_13_21_28_Pro

 

P.E.

The girls had homeschool gym.

 

Science:

We watched : What Is Tinsel Made Of? Speaking of Chemistry Ep. 12…by CEN Online

Excellent Evergreens by Scishowkids-both found on YouTube.

 

The Arts

Theater Appreciation (Small Screen ): We watched parts two and three of: PBS The Hollow Crown: The War of the Roses.

Drawing:

Besides chalkboard art,

WP_20161223_13_17_22_Pro

we made Santa, Dramatic Parrot-YouTube.

WP_20161223_13_17_36_Pro

 

We watched: 1933 “The Night Before Christmas” Walt Disney CLASSIC-  YouTube.

Our homeschooling group took a trip to a local small town candy store where the girls learned how to make candy canes.

WP_20161221_18_50_08_Pro

 

Last but not least, the girls have already been working on some of their new gifts.

WP_20161225_17_48_12_Pro

WP_20161227_13_09_55_Pro

(Little Sis)

WP_20161227_13_18_35_Pro

(Sky)

Time to put 2016 to bed. Fingers crossed, for 2017.

Peace for the journey.

wp_20161223_17_17_54_pro

*My Favorite Things: Sound of Music

Leave a Reply

