Week in the Life (Do You Want To Build A Snowflake?)

What a crazy winter we’ve had. Over the weekend, I had all the windows open letting the house air out. Today, we are huddled around the wood stove. On top of that, I think I’ve spotted the sun twice so far this winter. I can deal with the cold alright, however, I do need sunlight. It has not been cold enough to snow much, so it has been very rainy and gloomy. Even my little sunshine, Little Sis, has been getting a bit grouchy.  Hopefully, with the girls’activities starting back up this week will help manage our “doldrums”.

 

Homeschool

Language Arts

Reading:

We started reading Julie of the Wolves by Jean Craighead George. The girls were a little bored at first but gained interest as the story went on.

Grammar/ Vocabulary :

The girls worked in their workbooks and their words this week were:

pioneer, plain, connive, tyrants, scheme

It is interesting when going over vocabulary words with the girls. I pick words from either the story we are reading or the poem we are dissecting. I choose words that I think they know, and some words that I think they don’t know. Sometimes, I am surprised by the words they do know, and question where they might have learned them from. Sometimes, I am surprised that they can’t define words I assumed they already knew.

We added a new book into our lessons that I absolutely love: A Sentence a Day by Samantha Prust. Each day the girls are given an incorrect sentence to edit.

Handwriting:

The girls copied the first two stanzas of the poem: Let America Be America Again by Langston Hughes. He has become one of my favorite poets.

WP_20170126_19_04_13_Pro

(Sky)

Creative Writing:

Reading:

We read Rapunzel by Paul O. Zelinsky.

We also started another book that I absolutely love: Seize the Story by Victoria Hanley. The girls learned about free writing and began writing, ten minutes a day, their first creative writing assignment of a fairy tale adaptation.

*Mama’s reads*

I finished Her Every Fear by Peter Swanson. I did not like this one as much as The Kind Worth Killing. Part one gave me the creeps. As someone that actually suffers from anxiety, I could feel the main character’s anxiety which literally gave me nightmares. I was like: finally, a scary story. The kind of story, that had me scared to walk down the hall in the dark. Then, part two happened. Between constant repetition, and reading from the “stalkers” perspective, ruined the whole story for me. I forced myself to finish it because I had invested so much time into it already.

I have about 50 pages left in The Night Sister by Jennifer McMahon. This story reminds me of the old monster movies. The ones that have an actual plot with character development, not just gore. I think I may have found another new favorite author.

 

Mathematics:

The girls warmed up at XtraMath.

Sky continued reviewing simplifying algebraic expressions. Little Sis worked in her workbook.

 

Science:

This week was all about snowflakes. We watched:

(Little Sis)

Save the Snowman- SciShow Kids

Where Do Snowflakes Come From? SciShow Kids

Snowflake Safari by SciFri: ~ YouTube

(Sky)

Science of Snow- It is Okay to be Smart

The science of snowflakes”…TedEd

Building a perfect igloo takes cool science! – It’s Okay to be Smart

8 Beautiful, Weird, and Scary Things Ice Can Do – SciShow ~YouTube

 

P.E.

We walked the 3 miles from Walk Away the Pounds, Just Dance (Wii), Little Sis made the division 4 cheer team, and Sky had her first horseback riding lesson.

wp_20170123_18_05_52_pro

She loved it.

 

History

World/Geography:

We watched the PBS series Victoria. Both girls are loving this series. Being that we already studied this time period makes it even better. Both girls are cheering on Prince Albert, even though we know the ending.

American:

Reading:

We read The Magic Tree House: Balto of the Blue Dawn and the Fact Tracker guide: Dog sledding and other Extreme Sports.

WP_20170124_12_48_20_Pro

Watching:

We watched: the snowflake man – YouTube

We also watched the first episode of season two: Mercy Street. This is another series the girls love. They would want to watch both Victoria and Mercy Street even if it didn’t count as part of our school. They enjoy them just as much as Game of Thrones and Pretty Little Liars.

Civics/Government:

We watched:5 Surprising Facts About U.S. Presidential Inaugurations…National Geographic- YouTube.

 

The Arts

First, we made paper snowflakes, video from Scishow Kids- YouTube.

WP_20170126_19_01_12_Pro

 

Then, we drew Olaf from Disney’s Frozen- Dramatic Parrot- YouTube.

WP_20170126_17_41_28_Pro

Peace for the journey.

Leave a Reply

