Week(s) in the Life (Microbes Beware)

I have been struggling with finding time to write. The older the girls get, the less time I seem to have. My poor unsocialized homeschool children have been extremely busy.  If we are not out and about, the girls have friends over.

I actually need to make sure we are getting all our lessons in. There have been several things I have been wanting to watch with the girls that have been given the boot. We really don’t have time to watch many documentaries anymore. I am so glad I got the majority of our theater productions in last year, and thank goodness for YouTube.

Homeschooling has many stages. In the beginning, you want to make sure you are not ruining your child’s education by homeschooling. You start out by doing what you know, school at home, and realize that it’s just not going to work in a homeschool environment. So, you read any and everything you can get your hands on trying to find your groove. You start to see learning everywhere.

If there is one thing I would want to share here with newbies just starting out with younger children, please do not buy curricula. Younger children need to play and discover.kids 502

Imagination is the first skill they need to unlock. Read, color, go on outings, do chores, bake, sing, make crafts, play games, and watch their favorite shows with them. I promise they will learn to read, add and subtract, and write. They learn through imitation. When they reach about middle school age, then worry about curricula. You will not regret it. 🙂

Once you find your groove, everything seems to fall into place. Before you know it, they are ready for high school. This is when documentation becomes important. I spent way too much time worrying about checking off boxes. High school feels like you are starting the homeschooling journey all over again, and so the cycle begins. You start by doing what you know, school at home, once you realize this isn’t going to work, you start reading any and everything you can get your hands on…………

It wasn’t until I stopped worrying when things started to fall into place. It was when I stopped looking, that things literally started falling into my lap.

Little Sis could not be happier in cheerleading. I couldn’t believe how she wasn’t nervous at her first competition. She had never performed in front of a large audience before. She will be attending cheer camp this summer. She is very excited, this will be her first time away from home. She is ready.

wp_20161113_13_28_25_pro

Sky loves her western equestrian lessons.

20170227_180835

They have helped so much with her anxiety. She cantered for the first time at her last lesson. She has always loved animals.

Though both girls have started later than most of their peers, they are quick learners. They know it is a lot of hard work, but they want to be there.

Keep following your gut instinct, but keep following your children’s lead too. It will all work out in the end.(Note to self, remember this moment.)  🙂

 

Homeschool

Language Arts

Reading:

We finished Norse Mythology by Neil Gaiman. For me, this book came out at the perfect time. I mean, we were just wrapping up our winter lessons of the Arctic, and like the sun shining down upon me from up above, Neil Gaiman releases a new book. So Scandinavia, here we come.

As far as the book goes, I really liked it. However, if you already have Norse Mythology resources this probably will not be anything new for you. I mean, the stories don’t really change.

 

*Mama’s reads*

I finished: The Gunslinger by Stephen King. This was never my favorite book from the series. It kind of reminds me of the movie The Phantom Menace, it is not the best movie from the Star Wars series but it is important to the story as a whole.

I started: The Rook by Daniel O’Malley but just could not get into it. I really wanted to like this story; there was just too much information being thrown at me all at once. I thought it really hurt the flow of the story.

Thank goodness I received an e-mail letting me know that: I See You by Clare Mackintosh was ready to be checked out. I am already over halfway through, and I just started it two days ago.

 

Handwriting:

The girls are still working on the poem: Let America Be America Again. I don’t think I could have picked a better poem to copy at this point in time. We’ve had so many wonderful discussions.

20170301_105226

(Sky)

Grammar/Spelling/ Vocabulary

Little Sis: Beginners Word Roots, Mad Libs, Sentence of the Day.

Sky: Word Roots Level One, Mad Libs, Sentence of the Day, Barron’s E-Z English.

Words:

adorned, serf, furrow, lea, ambled, vamoosed, caboose

Creative Writing:

Reading: Seize the Story. The girls free write 10 minutes a day adding to their story what they’ve learned from the chapters we read. By the time we finish this book, they should have the rough draft of their fairy tale adaptation done.

 

Mathematics:

Warming up at XtraMath.

Little Sis: She finished her Kumon Division workbook and started Fractions and Decimals.

Sky: Worked in Kiss My Math and practiced with worksheets from Tree of Math.

http://onemathematicalcat.org/

I was so excited to find this website. I love the Kiss My Math book but sometimes Sky needs more practice grasping some of the concepts. Finding algebra worksheets for what she needs to practice is almost impossible and then I find the math site above. It is all about the little things I tell you.

 

P.E.

The girls had homeschool gym, we Walked Away the Pounds (3 miles), Yoga Walked, and walked around the block.

 

Health:

We watched:

Why Do We Eat Raw Fish But Not Raw Chicken? – SciShow YouTube

Should I refrigerate my eggs -SciShow

Why Did The FDA Ban Antibacterial Soap?-SciShow

Squeaks Caught A Cold-SciShow Kids

How Do Germs Spread -TedEd

Learning from smallpox: How to eradicate a disease- TedEd

Why Vaccines Work- It’s Okay to be Smart

How Vaccines Work-TedEd

Is the Five-Second Rule Real? SciShow

How mucus keeps us healthy-TedEd

All found on YouTube.

 

Science:

We watched:

The Life and Death (and Life Again) of Dire Wolves -Animalogic

Living With Wolves Documentary – YouTube

 

Microbiology:

All the videos about illness lead us into a microbiology block.

Reading: Basher Science Microbiology.

Watching:

Germ History from NPR (all 3 videos found on YouTube).

Chapter 1 Introduction to Microbiology –  Edward Kerscsen -YouTube.

 

20170301_104932

 

History:

World/Geography:

Watched:

It’s Not the Size of the Month that Matters- It’s Okay to be Smart- YouTube

PBS Victoria

 

The Arts

We watched: How It’s Made  Ice Sculptures-YouTube,

and the girls made chocolate chip cookies for movie night with friends. They are watching the Star Wars series. 🙂

On a side note, because I like to know what parents are watching too. Papa and I watched the movie, Victor Frankenstein. Frankenstein is one of my favorite books, and I wanted to see this at theaters but never did. It was all right. I would add it to my Frankenstein movie collection, but nothing fantastic (besides the actors). We are also watching BBC The Last Kingdom series on Netflix. We are really enjoying it. Papa and I are history big nerds. I am really glad Netflix picked this series up.

Peace for the journey.

Leave a Reply

