Week(s) In The Life (Are We Having Fun, Guys?)

Well, this was probably one of the longest breaks we have ever taken from school. Of course, learning still continues whether we have lessons or not. I will even add, that some of the best lessons are learned outside of “school”.

The girls are growing up. I feel like so much has happened since I last sat down to write. I really don’t know where to even begin. I guess the best place to start, would be with myself.

I feel with the girls growing older, their story really isn’t mine to tell anymore. This space has always been mine to write and work out my problems surrounding school, and to have a record that we really are learning (mostly to help ease my doubts). Right now, school feels good. I’ve made peace with my frustrations. I realized, all I wanted was to have well educated, self-sufficient children, and I feel like I have succeeded in that department. Whether the girls go on to college or not, is not my decision to make. Their future does not belong to me. This journey was never about how successful they might become, but always that they were able to care and nurture themselves, and contentment.  As their partner, I will always try to give my most helpful advice, but it will always come back to what they decide. You can lead a horse to water…… All I can hope for, is that I made them thirsty enough.

Sky and I have had a lot of wonderful conversations these last few weeks. I love hearing opinions she has formed. I have always believed in allowing the girls the freedom to question and think for themselves. I mean, that was one of my intentions for starting this blog, because of questions I had about education. I know for a fact, that I am not the same person I was when I first ventured out on this homeschooling journey. I am not the same person I was when starting this blog. I, like the girls have grown.

I listened to an awesome podcast with one of my favorite scientists, Lawrence Krauss (Joe Rogan experience #938 found on YouTube if anyone is interested) where he talked about how we outgrow our parents. In this case, he was talking about religion. However, the same can be said about education too.  We are not the same society when public education first began. School just doesn’t work for some children anymore. Homeschooling will not work for all children either. It should always be about what works best for them, and you.

This, is our journey. Boy, what a journey it has been too. 🙂

 

*Mama’s Reads*

I sure have read a lot of books since I last wrote; 4 to be exact. Some good, some great.

For starters, I finished: I See You by Clare Mackintosh. I think I finished it in like 4 days. It was alright, it held my interest, obviously . I gave it 4 out of 5 stars. I liked: I Let You Go much better. I could see the author was trying for something a bit different, and that is why I gave it 4 stars. However, it was a little too far fetched in my opinion, which never really made it scary to me. I would still recommend it if you enjoy thrillers though, and I Let You Go, for sure.

Next, I read: The Killer Next Door by Alex Marwood. Oh my goodness, I loved this book so. 5 out of 5 stars, and it will be on my top favorites list of the year, for sure. It included everything that makes me enjoy reading. Great writing, great fleshed out characters, and some seriously dark humor. So for a quick review, horror, psychological thrillers, and historical fiction are my favorite genres. I realize, this book will not be for everyone. It does contain graphic descriptions of human decay. I feel like, if you enjoy Stephen King’s sense of humor, you would enjoy this novel. This, is the story I have been waiting for. I am reading: The Darkest Secret by her now. Thank You Alex Marwood.

What does one even pick up to read after finishing such a find as up above? A romance novel, at least that is what I thought. Boy, was I wrong. When I first started reading: It Ends With Us by Colleen Hoover, I was questioning why I even had this title on my “To Be Read” list. I can not stand romance novels, but I guess I was trying to read outside my genre. I thought about ditching it several times (I caught myself eye rolling way too many times in the first few chapters.), I am so glad that I didn’t though. I really don’t want to say a whole lot about it. I feel like, the surprise is what made it such a great novel. I gave it 5 out of 5 stars as well, and for romance, that is saying a lot. Dare I even admit that this book made me cry, more than once.

“Dear Colleen,

Thank You for writing such a wonderful story.  It, for sure will be listed on my favorite reads from the year. ” 🙂

Last but not least, I read: He Will Be My Ruin by K.A. Tucker. This is another one, that I have no idea how it made it onto my list. I think, I checked it out on a whim while waiting for: The Darkest Secret to come available. What a pleasant surprise it turned out to be. I gave it 4 out of 5 stars. Another page turning thriller that held my attention. I feel it too, is a bit different from all the thrillers that are being released this year. Though, the ending was tied up well, it wasn’t all sunshine and roses. I liked that.

 

*Mama and Papa’s Shows*

So, what have we been watching that has held our interests lately, while we wait for the next season of Game of Thrones to come out?

We finished: The Last Kingdom on Netflix. We really liked this show a lot (come on season 2). After finishing this series, and thanks to my sister for recommending it to us, we watched: Stranger Things. How, in the world had I missed this show!? Papa and I can’t wait until season 2 for this show either.

After finishing that, we started watching the show: Vikings on Prime. Papa is hooked, he loves it, he says more than Game of Thrones (excuse me !?). We just started season 4, part 1. I am a little nervous as to what we will watch once we finish this show. Thank goodness, the weather is warming up, so our garden can keep us busy while waiting for all these new seasons to be released.

Well, I mentioned the podcast up above, so I think that just about wraps it up for us.

 

Homeschooling

 

Language Arts

Grammar/Vocabulary:

Both girls: A Sentence a Day and Mad Libs

Words: oath, graft, stealth, telemarketer

Sky: Barron’s E-Z English, Word Roots level 1

Little Sis: Word Roots Beginning

 

American Literature/ Handwriting:

The girls finally finished copying: Let America Be America Again by Langston Hughes.

20170405_140621

We finished by listening to the whole thing being read on YouTube. Lots of great discussion from this poem. It has become one of my favorites.

 

Creative Writing:

Reading: We Read Odd and the Frost Giants by Neil Gaiman. This was a perfect follow-up story to read after finishing his book about Norse Mythology.

We continued reading: Seize the Story, were we learned about the importance of secondary characters. During their 10 minutes of free writing, the girls should be coming up with their secondary characters for their fairy tale adaptation.

We watched: The History of Beauty & The Beast | Fairy Tales with Jen Campbell- YouTube.

 

Mathematics

Both girls: XtraMath.

Sky: reviewed combining like terms at Khan Academy.

Little Sis :Kumon Decimals and Fractions workbook.

 

 

History

World/Geography:

Reading: We read: The Magic Tree House Vikings Before Sunrise.

A great movie, that we have already watched, to go along with this block would be: The Secret of Kells.

We also watched the PBS Masterpiece: The Walk Invisible about the Bronte Sisters. I was actually a little disappointed with this show. I really had been looking forward to it. I think I understand where the show was trying to go, with how the sisters couldn’t rely on their bother for any financial help, but I still feel they could have done with a little less him and more of them.

20170405_110049

 

Science

Reading: We read the March Issue of: Science in the News A-Z.

We watched: Taxonomy: Life’s Filing System – Crash Course Biology-YouTube.

The girls made notes.

20170406_163738

*Short tangent*

Here is why I have a problem with using textbooks and curricula for science. Bacteria and Archaea are no longer classified as part of a kingdom. They now have their own domain, because they are the largest group of living things, not the animal kingdom as thought before. So, now there are only 4 kingdoms of living things, not 6.

Science lives, it grows and evolves the same as everything around us. Once you write knowledge down in a textbook, that textbook is already outdated. This is why I use the Basher books for my spine and supplement with videos and podcasts for our lessons. This is why I love using SciShow videos and Science in the News as a supplement for our science courses (and why it is so important to have them as resources), they stay up to date with all the new science information.

*End of tangent*

 

Microbiology

Reading: Basher Microbiology.

Watched: Old & Odd: Archaea, Bacteria & Protists…Crash Course

Prokaryotic Cell Model – YouTube

Fungi: Death Becomes Them – CrashCourse Biology

10 Fantastic Fungi Superpowers SciShow- YouTube

Fairy Rings – SciShow YouTube

20170404_145945

We were lucky enough to have fungi growing in our backyard on an old tree stump that we observed.

 

P.E.

The girls had homeschool gym, we walked around the block, did yoga, Sky had equestrian lessons (she is cantering, yay), and Little Sis had cheerleading practice.

 

The Arts

Drawing:

We drew Disney’s Belle from Dramatic Parrot- YouTube.

20170406_163617

I guess that about gets us all caught up with for now.

Peace for the journey.

Leave a Reply

