Week In The Life ( Scandinavia )

It never seems to fail, I write a post on how well our lessons are going, then something happens to change all that.

I mean, it is not like I didn’t see it coming or anything. Sky will turn 17 this year, 17! She will officially start 11 grade in the fall. Only one more year of school left.

When she turned 16, lots of people would ask when she would be getting her drivers license. At the time, she wasn’t interested in driving. Sky, has always been about a year “behind” her peers. I hate explaining it like that because of course, she is not behind, she is right where she needs to be. However, I will use it as an example for the sake of comparison.

Well, I made a prediction that Sky becomes 17, she will be ready, and guess what?  I was right. She informed me this week, over algebra word problems, that she wanted to get her drivers license and a part time job. There were other things as well, something along the lines of: “I’m not a baby anymore, mom”. So, we made a list of all the things that need to happen in order for it all to happen.

All this time, I have been planning to write Sky a transcript and issue her diploma, and I still hope to, but for the first time, we talked about getting her GED instead. After all, I did just write a post about how their choices were not mine to make.

I’ve always been open about my reasons for homeschooling. Sky, has always been my square peg. I’ve written here over the years about the tears I’ve shed because of that damned round hole society seems to want everyone to fit. My goal was always to do whatever necessary for her to get an education. I think this is how most parents feel, no matter which educational path chose. Well, my feelings haven’t changed just because she is older now.

So, our lessons may take a bit of a different turn to free up more time for driving lessons, making a resume, and job interviews. I mean, all the basics will still be there. I am just not worried so much about what colleges want anymore, like AP, ACT, SAT scores and writing college essays. At least, for this child. 🙂

Sky is a very smart girl quite capable of making her own decisions. After all, I should know.

 

 

Homeschool

Language Arts

English:

This is one of those areas I will be cutting back on as far as using “curricula”. Instead of Sky working in the Barron’s E-Z English and Word Root workbooks, which bored the hell out of her just to have resources to spice up her transcript, I will continue her grammar, spelling, and vocabulary lessons like I did before she started high school, through what we are reading and writing.

We will continue using Mad Libs though because the girls like them.

Sky writes fan fiction every day. When she is not sure how to spell or what the definition of a word is, she looks it up on her tablet. We now carry a dictionary and calculator around with us everywhere. Both girls have learned how to spell by writing on their own. While reading aloud on the Kindle, if the girls come to a word they don’t understand, they tap on it to bring up the definition. Sky has learned more about analyzing literature or the structure of a story from watching her favorite YouTubers.  She is constantly bringing stuff to my attention. She loves analyzing films. This is something she does in her free time.

So, the girls will stick with editing A Sentence a Day and freewriting for 10 minutes, working on whatever story they want to write. Which brings me to–

Creative Writing:

Writing:

I’ve dropped the fairy-tale assignment. Both girls have mentioned that they didn’t want to write a fairy-tale. What a better way to get someone to hate writing then by making them write something they don’t want to. Especially when studying creative writing.

Reading:

Seize the Story

We also started: East of the Sun and West and of the Moon and other tales by Asbjornsen and Moe.

We watched and had a wonderful discussion about Villains and Deformity from Jen Campbell -YouTube. This is a subject that none of us had ever even thought about before. I can’t wait for the rest of the series.

 

World Literature/Handwriting:

The girls copied and we discussed the first two stanzas of Visit to the Observatory by Harry Martinson.

20170414_113846

(Little Sis)

Vocabulary Words :

observatory, Nebula, naivety, majesty

 

*Mama’s Reads*

I finished: The Darkest Secret by Alex Marwood. Though I liked The Killer Next Door more, I absolutely love Alex Marwood’s writing. She just has a way of writing memorable characters, both good and bad. Which makes her stories realistic, naturally scary and horrific. Besides, The Killer Next Door has the best story ending ever. Not only is this novel a favorite of the year, but it has also been added to my all-time favorite books list. There are very few psychological thrillers I would read more than once. Actually, this may be the only one.

However, The Darkest Secret was a bit hard to get through. Without giving away any spoilers, the story centers around a missing toddler twin. It is not that the story was gory or anything, but the topic itself. Besides a few, the characters in this story are not nice, or lovable. In fact, the character’s behaviors in this story sickened me. The fact that the author could arise such emotion in the first place, is why I enjoy her writing so much. This, in my opinion, is what Gone Girl should have been. Though Amy will probably go down as one of the scariest villains of all time, the story itself is unrealistic and frustrating. This has a bit of the same, but much more realistic.  4 out of 5 stars.

I am reading: The Woman Next Door by Cass Green now.

 

Mathematics:

Both girls warmed up at XtraMath.

Little Sis: Decimals and Fractions- Kumon

Sky: Solving algebra word problems, Kiss My Math

Watched: Can you solve the virus riddle? – Lisa Winer – TedED YouTube

 

Science

Reading: Science In The News A-Z  April Issue.

Basher Microbiology

 

Watched:

Injecting Yourself with Killer Bacteria – SciShow-YouTube

Mozart’s Mysterious Death – SciShow YouTube

What Happens If You Don’t Take out a Splinter? – SciShow YouTube

 

*I listened to an another amazing podcast by Sam Harris and Lawrence Krauss entitled: Beauty and Terror- YouTube.  I could write a whole post on Krauss’s quote: “The scientific method is a natural filter for fake news.” Yes! That is the whole foundation of our homeschool.

 

P.E.

The weather was beautiful this week to walk around the block.

 

History

European History/ Geography:

This is another change, I just don’t think we will be able to get through all of world history in time. We still have several European countries to get through, as well as American history and civics to even think about getting into Asian or African history (which makes me sad). So, if I can’t give it all the attention those countries deserve, I’m not even going to worry about it.

Reading: The Magic Tree House Vikings Fact Tracker.

I printed off a map of the Scandinavian countries to add into the girls’ timeline binder.

20170414_113959

One good thing, we have learned about Denmark.

20170414_114631

 

The Arts

Drawing:

We made Easter Baskets from Draw So Cute -YouTube.

20170413_161724

 

Extracurricular Activities:

Sky had equestrian lessons and Little Sis is getting ready for her cheerleading competition.

Peace for the journey.

Leave a Reply

