Week in the Life (Master of Illusion)

Well, after a few weeks of doing exercises to help realign my neck and spine, I am beginning to feel better. So, in honor of this small victory, how about a couple of book reviews.

*Mama’s reads*

It is kind of funny really, not to the girls so much, while reading Seize the Story with them, just how much my current reads get discussed. When talking about voice, or writers style, I can’t help myself. There are SO many wonderful examples to choose from.

I ended up ditching: Gone Without A Trace by Mary Torjussen. It probably is a good story and all, however, I just couldn’t get into it. It basically starts with the main protagonist returning home to find out her boyfriend has completely packed up all his belongings and disappears as if never existing. There could be some surprising plot twist as to why. Maybe, because of an unreliable point of view. Either way, I couldn’t relate to the protagonist enough to stick around to find out and the pacing was incredibly slow for my taste. If you can’t hook me within the first 10 chapters, I’m done.

I can’t say the same about One Perfect Lie by Lisa Scottoline. It starts out with the reader knowing our main protagonist is not who everyone thinks he is. This novel was a bit different from what I would generally read. I don’t even know what made me put it on my “to be read” list. I am glad I did though. This is my first novel by this author, and I can’t wait to pick up more by her. Was this the best novel ever written? No. It did hold my interest though and I quickly became invested in the characters. That makes it a winner in my opinion. If I had to pick one thing that makes this novel stand out from all the other thrillers on the self, it is the way the author writes relationships. They feel very realistic. I give it 4 out of 5 stars.

Next, I read: The Widow by Fiona Barton. This too was a bit different from most psychological thrillers I’ve read. Not so much because of the subject, which by the way is a tough one (pedophilia), but because we get to read from the wife of the accused’s point of view. We get an inside view of how quickly someone’s life can be turned upside down by other people’s choices and how judgmental, we as a society can be. Like The Woman Next Door, this novel isn’t so much of a “thriller” but instead falls more in line with the psychological. I thought the pacing was just enough to move the plot along. I did find myself at times not wanting to pick it up to read, which could be because of the subject matter, but once I did, it was hard to put down. 4 out of 5 stars.

I am reading: Burntown by Jennifer McMahon and am already more than halfway through ( I started it yesterday). If I don’t finish it tonight, I will over the weekend for sure. Even though this isn’t the best story I’ve read by her, her writing is so hypnotic that it sucks me right into the story. She has a way of developing likable characters in a very short time. She reminds me of a young Stephen King; and like King, McMahon is one author I will always choose to read.

 

Garden update

iris

Our Irises and Peonies are beginning to bloom. It has been nice having fresh flowers in the house.

 

 

Homeschool

 

Language Arts

World Literature

Reading:

We finished: Comet in Moominland. I am glad we picked this one up. I have chosen to finish this series over summer school. I like to pick books a little more fun to read over the summer that we normally wouldn’t have time for during the year.

We are still reading the Kalevala.

Handwriting:

The girls copied the first half of the poem: Nocturne by Eino Leino.

20170511_112045

(Sky)

Vocabulary words:

nocturne, Corncrake (that was met with all kinds of “ahs” ), rye, dale

 

Grammar/ Spelling

Sentence a Day

Mad Libs

 

Creative Writing

Reading: Seize the Story (chapter 5, The Heart of A Writer), 10 minutes of freewriting.

 

Mathematics

Both girls warmed up with XtraMath

Little Sis: Decimals and Fractions workbook.

Sky: Algebra 1, solving linear equation worksheets from Math-Drills.com. She is ready to move on to solving  2 variable equations.

20170511_110310

 

Science

Microbiology

Reading: Basher Microbiology.

Watched: Growing Lambs in Plastic Bags-SciShow- YouTube. This video launched a great discussion.

*Maybe, a Small Tangent*

Bill Nye “Saves the World” has been getting lots of negative feedback in the homeschooling community as to not being a television show for children. The show carries a TV-14 rating, which tells me it wasn’t intended for young children to begin with. As I stated last week, I think a lot of the problem with the show is that it’s not long enough, however that is all beside the point. If the show is not for you, I get it.

Our family had lots and lots of great discussions from the show, not all of them resulting in positive agreement. (I disagree with Nye’s GMO opinions and agree with the man that said we don’t need them to “feed the world”. I also understand, that unless there is scientific proof that has been tested, retested, getting the same results, with those results then becoming fact, a lot of science is opinions. I’m scientifically literate and shop at farmers markets, small business economics 😉 )

One member of this family is a vegetarian and both girls are against animal cruelty, even if it is in the “name of science”. My girls are also 11 and 16 years old, not children and know what they are capable of watching more than I do. When they were younger, I hid their eyes from violent scenes until they started knocking my hand away. I knew Little Sis hated watching animals hunt each other and I would never make her watch. I support my children’s right to form their own opinions. Even those that don’t always agree with mine. I know my children and follow what is best for them.

A lot of what I write here, might not be a good fit for your family. Only you would know that. This is our homeschooling journey.

*End of a longer tangent than I thought. 🙂

 

Getting back to science, ahem.

We also watched: Crash Course Animal Cells.

Biology: Cell Structure- Nucleus Medical Media- YouTube

The girls did their first lab to go along with this study. We made an animal cell pizza.

20170510_204459

20170510_211318

20170510_204839

Instructions @:

https://www.childrensmuseum.org/blog/saturday-science-homemade-plant-cell-pizza

 

History

European/Geography:

We watched:

Lindisfarne- An Age Born in Fire- Extra History from Extra Credits-YouTube

Estonia

Flag Friday- Estonia

Researching Estonia

Let’s Talk to an Estonian – all from Geography Now YouTube.

 

Film

We watched: Crash Course Film History – George Melies -Master of Illusion- YouTube.

Since on the subject of illusions, we made thaumatropes.

20170511_105403

 

20170511_153644

You can find some great examples of ideas on YouTube.

 

P.E.

We walked around the block.

 

The Arts

Drawing:

Sky has been drawing up a storm.

20170507_204610

I meant to take more pictures. (Note to self.)

Little Sis had her last cheerleading practice before state competition this weekend. If her team places, they move on to nationals. I think I am more nervous than she is.

Wishing all the Mamas out there a happy mother’s day.

Peace for the journey.

 

Leave a Reply

