Week(s) in the Life (Now You See Me, Now You Don’t)

Papa has been on vacation this week. So, we took the week off to catch up on some projects around the house.

For starters, we gave the girls a much-needed room makeover. Note to self, don’t ever stencil butterflies on walls again. We pretty much needed to prime Little Sis’s whole room, twice. Good thing it is a small room.

childrens museum 146

You can kind of see the butterflies pictured above, just imagine those all over the room.  She also had one huge painted butterfly that took up most of one wall.

20170525_123728

This is her room now. Both girls chose pink for their room color. We plan on adding a few cheer decorations for the finishing touch.

Sky’s room was light blue with clouds painted on the walls. White clouds, thank goodness.

DSCF5673

20170525_134027

This is her room now. Her room will have more places to showcase her artwork without the need for tape. 😉

Garden update.

We have strawberries.

20170518_105808

I’ve made a strawberry pie, strawberry pancakes, strawberries with frozen yogurt, and still had enough to freeze and fill a gallon freezer bag for smoothies.

 

Mama’s reads:

I finished: Burntown by Jennifer McMahon. Though this novel was a tad different, I liked it. Any book that has me staying up way past my bedtime because I can’t put it down, is a winner. I finished it in 3 days. It is all about the character development in her novels. 4 out of 5 stars.

I wish I could say the same with: Into the Water by Paula Hawkins. I just could not get into it. When it takes me a whole week to read 20% of a book, something is wrong. I liked Girl on the Train enough, to give her second novel a try. Even though I didn’t think it was great.

I really like novels written from different points of view, like the Game of Thrones series. However, we are introduced to new characters through the point of view characters. So, when a new character gets their own point of view chapter, we already know who they are. In: Into the Water, we are introduced to new characters in each chapter. I couldn’t keep them straight. This ruined the pace of the novel for me. Sorry to add my second “did not finish” book this month to the pile.

Fingers crossed that: It’s Always the Husband by Michele Campbell is better.

 

Homeschool

With Little Sis’s state competition, that was an hour away and we needed to be there by 6:30 A.M., and with mother’s day happening, I didn’t get much of a lesson planned out. So, last week was all about finishing up any loose ends so we could take this week off.

 

Language Arts

World Literature:

We finished: The Kalevala.

In Sky’s words: “I can see how this story was told around a fire during a time when oral storytelling was a thing. It is very poetic, but it’s a bit dated for my taste. I had a hard time figuring what the heck was going on half the time.” and these girls understand Shakespeare.

I kind of agree with her. I have always been a “straight to the point” type of girl myself. What I did get out of it, is the influence it had on other stories. Overall, I am glad we read it.

Handwriting/Vocabulary:

Words: twinflower, devotion, demon’s mountain, vane

The girls finished and we discussed: Nocturne by Eino Leino.

20170518_121847

(Little Sis on the left and Sky on the right)

Sky really liked this poem. Little Sis told her to be careful, that I might make her memorize it. This was just the wake-up call I needed that I was killing natural learning. I decided to do away with “requiring” memorization for the sake of checking off a damn box. The girls have no problem memorizing information that is important to them.

As far as handwriting practice, Sky asked to work on her cursive when she got embarrassed she couldn’t sign her name to get a library card. So to kill 2 birds with one stone, I started having them copy poems we would go over for literature credits. The handwriting was their request.

*I feel a tangent coming on.*

While getting our hair cut the other day, my technician noticed I had a daughter in high school. She asked what school she went to, and I explained that I homeschool. She kind of went: “oh” and kept cutting my hair. A bit later, she asked: if the girls were excited about summer. I said: Yes, very. She went on to explain how her high school son needed to go to summer school because he was having trouble passing algebra 2. I could so completely relate to this with our oldest (soon to be 27. Damn where does the time go?). I started telling her how I thought it was bullshit that kids couldn’t graduate with an alternative to passing algebra 2. How not every child is meant to be a scientist. She went on to explain, how she was worried he would drop out, and in Indiana, it is a law you can’t get your drivers license if you drop out at 16.

This woman is probably a single mom working to raise her kids. There was no way she would be able to homeschool, let alone afford a tutor for her son. It really pisses me off, that because children can’t fit into a certain box, they are left to fend for themselves. I am thankful every day, that I am able to homeschool.

I told her, that she was not alone. I hear stories like hers all the time. It did make her smile a little.

I went to a private school and graduated from a public school. I have family and friends in public education, one being a principle. I completely understand the need. However, this is why I fight so hard for homeschooling. There needs to be another option. Parents need to know, there is another way.

*Fin*

 

P.E.

The girls had homeschool gym, walks around the block.

Science

Microbiology:

We watched: xenophyophores -SciShow- YouTube

 

History

European/Geography:

This week was all about Denmark. We already covered Denmark’s history when we learned about Hans Christian Anderson. So, we kind of just did a quick review by watching:

Geography Now: Denmark and Flag Friday- YouTube.

We also learned about Thomas Dam and the history of Trolls.

 

Movie:

We watched the films: The Prestige and Hugo-Netflix.

I loved the movie: Hugo. I can’t believe I had not heard of it sooner. It is beautifully shot and would make a great family movie. It is about the magic of how films were originally made. Perfect for movie history.

 

The Arts

We watched: Trolls.

Drawing: We made Poppy from the movie Trolls ~ Draw So Cute-YouTube.

20170517_161136

Little Sis had her awards ceremony for cheer, they didn’t make nationals, and she has been practicing her nail art.

20170517_140534

She was inspired by a sweater she owns.

Wishing everyone a happy memorial day weekend and

peace for the journey.

Leave a Reply

