Easing Back In (Not Back To School)

So, in honor of the children starting back to school today:

Still lots of the same.

20170711_183035 (2)

Tumbling,

20170718_202351

drawing, writing, creating,

late night texting with BFF about upcoming park photo shoot,

20170719_161334_Moment

swimming has taken over bowling (for now),

flexibility, and practice (always practice).

HNI_0067

Our year supply of corn is ready for winter and spring.

20170715_152504

As always, reading for mama (and the papa now having his own Kindle, reading about Deadwood, gearing up to start a new television series).

I finished: You by Caroline Kepnes, (Loved it, and no I do not understand all the Joe fan girls.) and Dark Saturday by Nicci French (Loved this one too.).

Wish I can say the same about: Don’t Close Your Eyes by Holly Sheddon (I had really high hopes for this one) and Bring Her Home by David Bell (Actually gave up on it. Okay, his wife died. I am still reading about it 10 chapters later when the plot has nothing to do with her. Maybe, it does but I am not reading anymore to find out.).

 

As for school, I ordered the first two math books in the Learn Math Fast curricula series.

Sky took a crafting notes webinar through Beasley College (learning about the KISS elements).

Sky has been keeping track of the wolf pups’ progress through the Wolf Park blog too. She will be writing one of her essays about this.

I made both Little Sis and Sky’s book list out for the year.

After we wrap up Scandinavia, we will finish up American history, literature, and government this year.

I thought I would make things easier on myself this year and just order curricula. However, the more I read over the book lists, the more discouraged and mad I became. Not one bloody diverse book. Not one Mexican-American, Native American, or person of color author. NONE! No LGBTQ authors, hell there was barely any females on the list. This is supposed to be secular?? Thank goodness for Harper Lee. I mean, I guess she is the only American female to write a novel.

I will share the list I came up with as we go (Don’t want a longer waiting list from our library.).

This is why I have always put together my own resources, to begin with. Might as well finish it out this way.

Only two more years to go for one child.

Last, I decided to use a portfolio as my high-school grading system (which is another reason I started this blog).

Yes, I will have the 4-A, 3-B, 2-C GPA for colleges. However, I refuse to start giving the girls grades now. They have gone all this time without being graded, I am not going to change to be like some dog jumping through a hoop.

Grades mean nothing. I can study for a test to get an A, but what did I retain? I am raising learners here in this little private school of mine. 🙂

Homeschooling has always been my own little experiment. If a child did not retain information over the summer, then just maybe they never learned it in the first place.

Peace for the journey.

Leave a Reply

