Electives (Culinary Arts 1)

Okay, the girls have been cooking along with me since they’ve been able to walk. All our girls are completely able to cook meals from scratch on their own. Little Sis has become an expert in making cookies and Sky loves baking all different kinds of bread.

Credit (2)

Culinary Arts are for anyone with a passion for food, creative expression, and diligence. The student is introduced to unique ingredients through smell, touch, and taste while honing the skills critical for conceptualizing and creating innovative dishes.

Such as,

  • Breakfast foods, sandwiches, salads, garnishes, fruits, vegetables, soups, sauces, grains, and baking.

 

Success in this program includes putting the student’s knowledge to practice in areas including Nutrition, Knife Skills, Sanitation and Safety, Cooking Methods, Following a Recipe and Creating Recipes of their own.

Resources:

20170811_124823

I love Sara Moulton. Watching her television show Cooking Live is how I learned to cook. I still have printed out recipes that I use from her show. When I saw that she has a YouTube channel, I let my fangirl scream fly. I couldn’t wait to introduce her to my girls.

Sara’s Weeknight Meals-YouTube

Online Craftsy King Arthur Bread Baking Class

 

20170811_124946

 

20170811_125000

 

WP_20160414_23_38_04_Pro

 

WP_20160421_23_19_04_Pro

WP_20160915_20_25_03_Pro

( November cakes inspired by the novel Scorpio Races by Maggie Stiefvater.)

http://maggiestiefvater.blogspot.com/2011/12/my-name-is-maggie-im-perfectionist-and.html

DSCF6578

 

20170811_125023

 

An example of their own creation. Gingerbread Crinkle Cookies.

Leave a Reply

